Illfirin
 member, 35 posts
Mon 29 Jun 2015
at 15:40
Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-.../gloves-deliquescent

Do these Gloves allow me to make a Melee Touch Attack for 1d6 acid damage in place of a normal attack? This is really just a curiosity thing on my part.
Korentin_Black
 member, 480 posts
 I remember when all
 this was just fields...
Mon 29 Jun 2015
at 15:51
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves

 I would say 'yes', you can either punch someone for normal damage with the corrosive ability or slap someone for a 1d6 acidic touch attack.
Illfirin
 member, 36 posts
Mon 29 Jun 2015
at 15:55
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
Time for "Epic Slap Fights"!
aerion111
 member, 368 posts
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 00:38
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
Illfirin:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-.../gloves-deliquescent

Do these Gloves allow me to make a Melee Touch Attack for 1d6 acid damage in place of a normal attack? This is really just a curiosity thing on my part.

Personally, I'd say you actually need to make a melee attack - but that 'touch' AC is enough for the acid damage (potentially you'd have to choose between a normal punch against normal AC, or a glove-only touch attack)

Point is: If you're not skilled at unarmed combat, you provoke AoOs.
But that's just one feat, which seems fine for fighting with an 'exotic' weapon like that.
GamerHandle
 member, 876 posts
 Umm.. yep.
 So, there's this door...
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 01:36
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
No.

You cannot normally "declare" an attack to be "Melee Touch".  The Attack you are choosing to make must already be a Melee Touch (such as using the Shocking Grasp spell.)

If you are already proficient in Unarmed Strikes - (such as the feat or being a monk) it is still a standard attack - but, it becomes corrosive.
elecgraystone
 member, 893 posts
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 01:49
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
"Touch Attacks: Some attacks completely disregard armor, including shields and natural armor—the aggressor need only touch a foe for such an attack to take full effect. In these cases, the attacker makes a touch attack roll (either ranged or melee)."
+
"The wearer’s melee touch attacks with that hand deal 1d6 points of acid damage."
=
You can make a touch attack with the gloves.

On AoO:
"Touch Attacks: Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity." So no feat needed.

So to Illfirin, YES you can make melee touch attacks with the gloves in place of your normal melee attacks, can use them for AoO and don't provoke AoO.
swordchucks
 member, 1105 posts
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 01:50
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
Ultimate Equipment is probably the single PF book most in need of errata to clear a few things up.

Given the rest of what the gloves do, it makes perfect sense for you to be able to use them for a melee touch attack that does 1d6 acid damage without needing anything else to do so.  After all, you can use them to make an unarmed strike (against AC) that does your normal unarmed strike damage plus 1d6 acid damage.  Shoving a handful of acid at someone would seem in keeping with that.  Making it provoke is... counter to the logic of every spell that works virtually the same way.

However, because it's not quite clear, it'd be DM fiat.  If someone wants to waste their turn doing a touch attack for 1d6 acid damage (you don't get most damage boosters on touch attacks), then go for it.
elecgraystone
 member, 894 posts
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 02:05
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
swordchucks:
However, because it's not quite clear, it'd be DM fiat.  If someone wants to waste their turn doing a touch attack for 1d6 acid damage (you don't get most damage boosters on touch attacks), then go for it.
For the right character, it's pretty useful. Take the typical caster that might have a good dex but a poor strength. These glove allow for AoO and could deal more damage than a weapon when you have a - on strength. Not awesome but it's at least some threat for running past/around the person. And of course it adds some damage to the casters melee touch spells.
GammaBear
 member, 570 posts
 Gaymer
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 02:07
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
Illfirin:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-.../gloves-deliquescent

Do these Gloves allow me to make a Melee Touch Attack for 1d6 acid damage in place of a normal attack? This is really just a curiosity thing on my part.


I would say yes, however, unless you're a Monk, you're going to suffer for it.
swordchucks
 member, 1106 posts
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 02:13
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
elecgraystone:
Take the typical caster

By the point a typical caster has 8k gold to spend on an item that's rarely useful to them, 1d6 damage is barely worth rolling.  It would let them count as armed for purposes of flanking, which is good, but so would a nonmagical dagger.

Overall, I just don't see a point in not using the most generous interpretation.  I'd have to see someone really break it before I believe otherwise.
GamerHandle
 member, 877 posts
 Umm.. yep.
 So, there's this door...
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 02:20
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
Crane/Panther Monk or Monk1/Magus-whatever.
Genghis the Hutt
 member, 2443 posts
 Just an average guy :)
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 03:12
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
I would argue that a touch attack may always be made, but that it rarely is because it usually has no effect (i.e. unless you want to become a Crow warchief: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/...ef_of_the_Crow_Tribe there's rarely a point in trying to touch an enemy).

Basically, for 8,000gp, you get the effect of the http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-...-abilities/corrosive magic weapon ability applied to whatever magic weapon you happen to be holding, at the additional cost of also losing your glove slot, which means you can't use any of these items: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-...-slot-wondrous-items (and that's quite a long list).

I don't think it's broken for any class combination.

This message was last edited by the user at 03:14, Tue 23 Feb 2016.

elecgraystone
 member, 895 posts
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 04:39
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
In reply to GammaBear (msg # 9):

The question is, are you armed. Even if you are thinking it's an unarmed attack:

"Armed" Unarmed Attacks: Sometimes a character's or creature's unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed (see natural attacks).

Doesn't a magical acid attack sound more like a "a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell" than an person that's not armed?

swordchucks: Is it a huge bonus? No. Is it a useful side effect if you already have it? Sure is. It's far from useless on a caster that makes a lot of touch spells and it actually has a chance of adding a little damage where a dagger has very little. They can also come in very handy if you get tied up. At most it take few touch attacks to burn through rope and that's a lot quicker than a caster usually makes an escape check or a break check.

Another interesting use in on someone with sneak attack. An option for a melee touch attack can be super helpful on high armor targets or even their lower hit attacks from BAB. That 3rd attack at 15th level has a much better chance as a touch. With a pile of d6's it helps with damage.
GamerHandle
 member, 878 posts
 Umm.. yep.
 So, there's this door...
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 05:39
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
In reply to elecgraystone (msg # 13):

"Sounds like" may indeed be the RAI - however the RAW does not grant the wearer an auto "all that you do is now considered armed" effect like say.. natural weapons or the monk.  Those class/race/whatever features cite that they do.

However, as mentioned before: this does become a GM fiat issue - because it doesn't expressly answer one way or another.  But, assuming an effect grants a power on top of itself is not always the smartest way to go.  Like when people argue that because a feat can grant two traits... that means that all traits can inherently be traded-in for feats.

"All dogs are red - not all things which are red are dogs."

That being said - again - depending upon the power-level of the campaign: it may or may not acceptable.

How do I see that item? You just gave a sweet way to sunder everything in sight.

And, even GammaBear's assessment would be off (though, I personally like the application)
- it is counted as a melee touch, whether or not you are a monk - you would no longer be subject to AoO as it's a "melee touch attack" NOT an untrained/unarmed strike.


(Edit: after re-reading my post for the 20th time - I hope I'm not coming across as a pain to others - just playing a bit of Devil's advocate on the RAI/RAW thing.)

This message was last edited by the user at 06:01, Tue 23 Feb 2016.

Genghis the Hutt
 member, 2444 posts
 Just an average guy :)
Tue 23 Feb 2016
at 08:06
Re: Pathfinder Deliquescent Gloves
So you don't get an AoO for making an unarmed attack when you're not a monk and don't have the feat.  I don't think that's particularly ground breaking.  By the time you can afford this item, that's long since ceased to be amazing.

Plus, again, I don't see any reason why anyone couldn't make a melee touch attack at any time.

"Hey, I rolled a 20 and critted my melee touch attack!"

"That's great!"

"So how much extra damage do I roll for that?"

"What makes you think that you'd get to roll any damage for brushing his shield with your fingertips?"

"Uhm, I don't know."

"Kind of a waste of your action, wasn't it."

This message was last edited by the user at 08:07, Tue 23 Feb 2016.