godlearner
 member, 633 posts
 No good deed,
 shall go unpunished.
Wed 6 Jan 2016
at 14:22
Pathfinder - delivering touch spells and familiars
Ok here is a question: if a third level wizard casts a Shocking Grasp for example and has a familiar that can deliver it. Let's say the familiar misses the first round, in the second round the familiar misses again, can the wizards attempt to deliver it himself?

If the familiar hits in the second round, can a wizard cast another spell or does the familiars attack count as the wizards standard action?
GamerHandle
 member, 856 posts
 Umm.. yep.
 So, there's this door...
Wed 6 Jan 2016
at 14:53
Pathfinder - delivering touch spells and familiars
To the first - this would have to be worked-out with your DM/GM, as there is no RAW to cover that.  There doesn't seem to be anything that states that the spell can 'transfer back'.

As for second part - wizard and familiar actions are never the same; they are NOT the same entity.

However, casting another spell *DOES* require the familiar to strike with their spell first, because if the wizard casts *BEFORE* the familiar uses the touch: the touch attack spell will be lost.
swordchucks
 member, 1064 posts
Wed 6 Jan 2016
at 14:57
Pathfinder - delivering touch spells and familiars
Well, look at the ability text:

PRD:
Deliver Touch Spells (Su): If the master is 3rd level or higher, a familiar can deliver touch spells for him. If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the "toucher." The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the master would. As usual, if the master casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell dissipates.


can the wizards attempt to deliver it himself?

By a strict reading of the familiar ability text, no.  When the spell is cast, the wizard designates teh familiar as the "toucher".  From then on, the familiar is the one that must "touch" someone to get the spell to go off.  There's no provision for moving it back to the master.

does the familiars attack count as the wizards standard action?

No.  The actions of the familiar and the wizard are entirely separate.  If the familiar hits or misses, the wizard can still cast a spell that round (though the familiar can't hold a charge after the wizard does so).  This is much the same as how the master can move, cast the touch spell, the familiar can then move, and make an attack all in the same round.