Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn.   Posted by GM Arkrim.Group: 0
Ankou
 Druid 2,965, 569 posts
 Oread Druid
 Thaumaturgical Alliance
Mon 12 Mar 2018
at 15:24
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Iím getting more and more confused.

I would love to understand which attacks hit me (or Titus) and how much damage of each type I got from each...
Jayce the Tamer
 Summoner 2,543, 395 posts
 Human Summoner
Mon 12 Mar 2018
at 15:53
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
In reply to Ankou (msg # 43):

Vampiric touch temp hp doesn't stack. So 154 plus 42 is 196 - 155 (temp gone) 41 hp 41 plus 45 is 86. So good there.

But bane damage doesn't go through and if plus two was calculated into to hit and damage, that lowers as well.

I'm seeing about 34 less damage from first post alone.

Lastly, you can't switch targets. Your roller is what we go by. And AC matches intended victims. Therefore, AC 21 remains ankou, others remain titus.

This message was last edited by the player at 16:16, Mon 12 Mar 2018.

Ankou
 Druid 2,965, 570 posts
 Oread Druid
 Thaumaturgical Alliance
Mon 12 Mar 2018
at 19:14
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Since weíre here chatting, are you using Piranha Strike with the Elven Curve Blade?
Because the feat text says ďWhen wielding a light weaponĒ and the Elven curve blade specifically mentions it isnít light. I should know, Iím using one ;) unless of course youíre using a special kind that is lighter than the regular one.
Ankou
 Druid 2,965, 571 posts
 Oread Druid
 Thaumaturgical Alliance
Mon 12 Mar 2018
at 19:25
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Also, am I good to go?
And if so, am I still alive and how many hp does everybody have?

(on the bane thing, Iím fine with removing the 2d6 rolls and -2 from all damage, no need to reroll - I think all attacks still hit)

Do any of your spellcasting provoke aoo btw?
Jayce the Tamer
 Summoner 2,543, 401 posts
 Human Summoner
Mon 12 Mar 2018
at 19:35
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Lyn does not have parinha strike nor is she using a light weapon.

Because maximised 56 vampiric didn't go though but rolled 42 damage vampiric did. The 68 life would be 82. The 82 in lieu of bane not working, 116. I'm seeing 30 more damage to Ankou in round two. Dropping him to  86. And the rest to Titus because striking a name through doesn't change die roller labeling.

If we aren't sure if an opponent is still up, ask and confirm with opponent after figuring out declared damage vs dealt damage before making the next round actions.

Before anyone moves, wait for Lyn to chime in, Lyn deserves a response to her actions. Otherwise retcon will happen and this should have been an easy two round fight.

This message was last edited by the player at 19:50, Mon 12 Mar 2018.

Ankou
 Druid 2,965, 572 posts
 Oread Druid
 Thaumaturgical Alliance
Mon 12 Mar 2018
at 19:41
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
 Maybe that was a typo then.
quote:
   ROUND: 1 (35)
POSITION: K15
ACTIONS: Spell-Combat(Dimension Door)(Full Attack Piranha Strike) [...]


 I thought that was how she got to such a high bonus to damage without strength or power attack.
Jayce the Tamer
 Summoner 2,543, 403 posts
 Human Summoner
Mon 12 Mar 2018
at 19:58
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
In reply to Ankou (msg # 48):

Round 2, you do get an aoo as casting defensively was not declared but rolled. and happens before Lyn's actions. Concentration roll is there but doesn't say casting defensively, nor does her action line say casting defensively. Lyn AC is 31 for this round as she also doesn't list fighting defensively. In action lines or rolls or mention penalties to hit anywhere. Lyn....

This message was last edited by the player at 20:02, Mon 12 Mar 2018.

Ankou
 Druid 2,965, 573 posts
 Oread Druid
 Thaumaturgical Alliance
Mon 12 Mar 2018
at 20:12
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Iíll wait for Lyn to confirm and comment before anything else.
Jayce the Tamer
 Summoner 2,543, 405 posts
 Human Summoner
Mon 12 Mar 2018
at 20:14
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
In reply to Ankou (msg # 50):

Thank you.
Lyn
 Magus 2,612, 165 posts
 Elf Magus
 The Order
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 03:01
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Things are getting more C by the minute...

Turn 1, critical strike was stopped by bracelet. To keep the same actions and rolls, I substituted a quickening diamond instead of the critical strike.

If you guys aren't happy with that, then the vampiric touch was never cast, and I died in Ankou's first round.

Secondly, rolls were made before Ankou and I determined more information. If we determine that round 1 damage was incorrect, I request a retcon to start of turn 2 so I can decide options appropriately.
Lyn
 Magus 2,612, 166 posts
 Elf Magus
 The Order
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 03:06
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
I always though P Strike could be used with any finessable weapon, so that's my mistake. On 4 attacks that's 32 damage less from turn 1

As for AC, it's naturally 34, unless Ankou has reduced my AC somehow. No need to right defensively.
Jayce the Tamer
 Summoner 2,543, 411 posts
 Human Summoner
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 03:21
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
In reply to Lyn (msg # 53):
Jayce the Tamer
 Summoner 2,543, 412 posts
 Human Summoner
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 03:44
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Lyn:
Things are getting more C by the minute...

Turn 1, critical strike was stopped by bracelet. To keep the same actions and rolls, I substituted a quickening diamond instead of the critical strike.

If you guys aren't happy with that, then the vampiric touch was never cast, and I died in Ankou's first round.

Secondly, rolls were made before Ankou and I determined more information. If we determine that round 1 damage was incorrect, I request a retcon to start of turn 2 so I can decide options appropriately.

I'm totally ok with the substitution. That is the way it would work at a table. Your turn isn't done, you learn you can't do something because x, you do something else instead. Finish turn.


So you did sub swift spell vamp touch. It did do 42 damage. However, bane did not go through, I know 24 from damage dice comes off. Do any flat 2s also come off?

Secondly why are both of you taking an extra turn before confirming previous turn results with the other player?

The next mislabel, misroll, change die roller target, etc will be foul 1.

If Ankou is okay with you changing actions for round two, that is fine.

What I need now is breakdown of AC as a pm and damage dealt to ankou knowing his resistance and DR and that bane does not apply. Round 1 will not change.
Lyn
 Magus 2,612, 167 posts
 Elf Magus
 The Order
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 05:35
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn



I've been taking my turn after confirming what I thought was right to save time and try and wrap this up sooner, but I'll slow down from here to make sure things are right..

Damage:

Attack 1:
38 Slashing - 2DR - 8 PStrike = 28

Attack 2:
32 Slashing - 2DR - 8 PStrike = 22

Attack 3:
32 Slashing - 2DR - 8 PStrike = 22
48 Shocking - 30Res = 18

Bane from 3 attacks: 14. Rolled incorrectly at 1d6 per, but that's my fault.

Attack 4: Spellstrike from Quickened Vamp Touch
42 Vamp Touch damage
37 Slashing - 2DR - 8 PStrike = 27
10 Bane

Total 28+22+22+18+14+42+27+10 = 183 damage.

Bane will apply since I used a spellstrike with my weapon to deliver my Vampiric Touch?

If you guys are happy from here, I'll take turn 2?
Jayce the Tamer
 Summoner 2,543, 413 posts
 Human Summoner
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 05:51
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
In reply to Lyn (msg # 56):


No the bane you brought in on your weapon won't go through in this fight. Your AC is 32. You did 161 in round 1. Ankou has 91 hp start of your round 2.

It's up to ankou if you get to redo round 2.

I'm glad you're trying to make things quick and easy, but as you are using things you don't have, it's slowing things down. And since you took your next turn without resolving your first turn, you're wanting to redo your next turn. Which is also slowing things down.


From now on please include your actions, in their order with a breakdown as a pm to me to prevent this in the future. Thanks in advance.
Lyn
 Magus 2,612, 168 posts
 Elf Magus
 The Order
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 06:17
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
PM
Jayce the Tamer
 Summoner 2,543, 414 posts
 Human Summoner
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 06:33
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
In reply to Lyn (msg # 58):

This message was last edited by the player at 06:50, Tue 13 Mar 2018.

Lyn
 Magus 2,612, 169 posts
 Elf Magus
 The Order
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 06:50
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
PM


Your call Ankou, are you happy with the corrected information? And am I good to take round 2 again based on the different information?
Ankou
 Druid 2,965, 574 posts
 Oread Druid
 Thaumaturgical Alliance
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 08:11
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Sorry did you say AC32?

Because the whole reason I rerolled my R1 attack was that you said they didnít hit at AC33, and instead of adding +2 for flanking I rerolled; but if weíre there and my original attacks actually hit, I see no reason why I should use my new rolls.

My original rolls sent 202 damage - is Lyn still up after that?

Either way, Iím fine with your taking an entirely new round 2. Ankou has 91hp
Ankou
 Druid 2,965, 576 posts
 Oread Druid
 Thaumaturgical Alliance
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 12:35
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
This is going to seem pernickety (and maybe moot as I donít know whether youíre still doing that in our alternate reality multiverse thread !) but did you ever draw that Quickening Diamond?
Iím sorry, Iím noticing all these things late as Iím doing my research to improve Josep for his next fight :)
Or is it that, as a costly material component for a spell, one doesnít need to first ďdrawĒ it, and itís considered part of grabbing components from the pouch as one normally would?
Iím actually hoping the latter.
Jayce the Tamer
 Summoner 2,543, 416 posts
 Human Summoner
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 17:09
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
In reply to Ankou (msg # 62):

I dont see why you cant place an expensive material component in your material component pouch, as long as you paid for it. Just like an actual 250 gp ruby or 1,000 gp bracelet.

196-202 would have been -6.
But also, you did add info into the roller that would not need to be there. Typing flanking, not adding the +2 then mentioning etc. I feel like we added a step we didn't need.


If you ever think someone is cheating, something suspect etc, contact a GM or ref. We will address it and move forward. The problem here is both parties moved forward(before resolving their round 1 you took your round 1) and now want take backs.


However, I have to side with the one who hit target AC and forced a reroll.

Lyn, do you have any tricks to stay afloat -6 hp?
Ankou
 Druid 2,965, 577 posts
 Oread Druid
 Thaumaturgical Alliance
Tue 13 Mar 2018
at 17:18
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Jayce:
I dont see why you cant place an expensive material component in your material component pouch, as long as you paid for it. Just like an actual 250 gp ruby or 1,000 gp bracelet.

 I like that ruling, and my guild master even more so.

 Cheating is such a strong word! I would go with overlooking some aspects of the rules (which may happen to anyone and in good faith).
 But yeah I agree that I rushed into my own round without fully understanding what happened to Ankou during Lynís turn.
Lyn
 Magus 2,612, 171 posts
 Elf Magus
 The Order
Wed 14 Mar 2018
at 06:52
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
I feel like I came into this fight not quite ready, and I've made things worse for everyone. I don't have any tricks and am unconscious.

Lyn has 2612bp, used 0 hero points and lost
Ankou
 Druid 2,965, 581 posts
 Oread Druid
 Thaumaturgical Alliance
Wed 14 Mar 2018
at 07:45
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Titus will take a bite for good measure then.

Donít beat yourself up, most fights end up in a mess where one learns more about their build than they wanted to...

The Ankou has 2,965 BP and used 1 hero point.
Jayce the Tamer
 Summoner 2,517, 424 posts
 Human Summoner
Wed 14 Mar 2018
at 14:54
Re: Duel #221: Ankou vs. Lyn
Winner Ankou used 1 hero point, gained 1 hero point and 871 BP.

Loser Lyn, no hero points used, no hero points gained. Gained 494 BP.


Jayce gains 697 BP as ref.