OOC.   Posted by Narrator.Group: 0
Katerina von Anselm
 player, 425 posts
 Unbent by Misfortune
Thu 2 May 2013
at 02:31
Re: OOC
Oh agreed, a lot depends on the GM with regards of balance.

Of course, some creativity is required in some cases, like my Sorcerer in another campaign. Due to limited spell selection i'm simply building her to get 200 applications out of the same Fireball spell so to speak (for example, Fireballs dealing sonic damage), but even that can be done without ending up grossly overpowered.

Also, Narrator, i'd have to correct you there. A 'twink' is what it's called if someone uses their high level character to harvest the best gear for a lower level character without the low level having to put in effort for it.

Amusingly enough, i once did this the other way around. I was level 20 at the time, and there was another guy, level 30 or so, that was complaining about his gear, so i took him for a small tour to point out who dropped good gear. Conversations went like this:

Me: "Okay, now this guy has flaming fists, get a pair."
Him: *looks* "Nah, i got better."
Me: "+100 hit and dam"
Him: "...You're right, those are better."

And of course:

Me: "This guy has a good belt, but i can't kill him yet. Enjoy :D"

We had a good laugh during that run, mostly because i love exploration in a game and knew way more about where the hidden stuff was than he did. He pretty much doubled his damage output after we were done XD
Shrike
 player, 224 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 07:58
Re: OOC
Happy to move on.
Narrator
 GM, 825 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 12:24
Re: OOC
In reply to Shrike (msg # 930):

Understand completely. :)
Narrator
 GM, 826 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 12:26
Re: OOC
Hmm, I was using twinkie as a synonym for d-bag. :D So, I stand by my statement that GMs are responsible for reining the D-bags in. Among other things.
Victor Hauptbauer
 player, 231 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 12:32
Re: OOC
Got a friend running a pathfinder steampunk game he's made up. He's a twinker by nature, but he's run into the slight problem that he asked me and another player (an engineer) to help him design the steampunk and weapon aspects of the world, so now when he tries to tweak things, we keep poking holes in his logic.

Though it is very entertaining watching the engineer smack his head into the table with frustration.
Katerina von Anselm
 player, 426 posts
 Unbent by Misfortune
Thu 2 May 2013
at 14:35
Re: OOC
I tried twinking myself with gear my higher level characters get as drops, or hand-me-downs of what they used to use like ten levels ago, but i never really get around to it.

I'm usually exploring too much and fighting everything on the way so that by the time i think "Oh wait, didn't i have that ring up in storage?" i'll have either something comparable to it or better as well.

Overall though, storage chests tend to be more like museums than actual temporary inventory slots for me, "Oh, that ring? Yeah, it was pretty epic when i took out that boss for it."
Narrator
 GM, 830 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:10
Re: OOC
Freaking engineers and their math! They are so brilliant, but I get lost at the step that includes 2+2. If I asked an engineer to help with my designs, I would listen to him very closely and make changes accordingly.
Victor Hauptbauer
 player, 236 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:19
Re: OOC
well the engineer helped him design how to use crystals (Steam, electrical and water) to form a steam engine so that it would actually work.
Katerina von Anselm
 player, 428 posts
 Unbent by Misfortune
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:32
Re: OOC
Oh, sorry to change topics, but there's something i wanted to know about Stunts.

Specifically, Dual Strike and Mighty Blow. text added for easy reference:

quote:
4 Dual Strike: Your attack is so strong it affects two targets. First, pick a secondary target. They must be adjacent to you if you are using a melee weapon or within 6 yards of your primary target if you are using a missile weapon. Apply the test result of your original attack roll to the secondary target (in other words, you only make one attack roll and apply it to both opponents). If you hit the secondary target, inflict your normal damage on then.


And Mighty Blow says this:

quote:
2 Mighty Blow: You inflict an extra 1d6 damage on your attack.


My question is, would the damage from Mighty Blow apply to both hits from Dual Strike, since they are both made using the same attack roll?
Serrisa Lakelance
 player, 46 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:33
Re: OOC
I would think it's a good idea to punch holes into that kind of thing, especially if it prevents the players from abusing it later.

I remember once I was running a 10 Wizard/10 Cleric in a friend's off-the-wall game and there was a piece of treasure that dropped, something the GM was proud of designing.  He called it the Glove of Maximize Spell.  Pretty much, by sacrificing six spell-levels of divine or arcane power, the next spell cast is maximized.

The group looks at each other, then at me, and I cock my arm like a shotgun.  The look on the GM's face is one of absolute horror. The way he'd written the item was that it didn't matter what energy I sacrificed to power it- I almost always burned off low-level spells to fire off a fully-maxed damage Lightning Bolt or Fireball to kill problems outright.  This resulted in the death of the big bad's second-in-command, which caused the rest of the bad guys to end up significantly weakened- I took out the summoning and creation specialist who'd been tormenting us with her conjured creatures and golems, and given that they were the special forces of the big bad's army, well... it turned into a slugging match where the rest of the group struggled to clear the way to the target so I could blow them up and end them.

Two weeks before semester end, he calls off the campaign- he claimed he'd have to start throwing named demons at me to give me a challenge, and they would kill the rest of the party.
Narrator
 GM, 831 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:38
Re: OOC
Katerina von Anselm:
Oh, sorry to change topics, but there's something i wanted to know about Stunts.

Specifically, Dual Strike and Mighty Blow. text added for easy reference:

quote:
4 Dual Strike: Your attack is so strong it affects two targets. First, pick a secondary target. They must be adjacent to you if you are using a melee weapon or within 6 yards of your primary target if you are using a missile weapon. Apply the test result of your original attack roll to the secondary target (in other words, you only make one attack roll and apply it to both opponents). If you hit the secondary target, inflict your normal damage on then.


And Mighty Blow says this:

quote:
2 Mighty Blow: You inflict an extra 1d6 damage on your attack.


My question is, would the damage from Mighty Blow apply to both hits from Dual Strike, since they are both made using the same attack roll?


They use different damage rolls, so the mighty blow would apply to one or the other.
Victor Hauptbauer
 player, 237 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:40
Re: OOC
you beat me to the reply. I'd also add:
quote:
You can only perform a given stunt once in a round.
So since it's two separate damage roles, you can't add mighty blow to both.
Narrator
 GM, 832 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:41
Re: OOC
Serrisa Lakelance:
I would think it's a good idea to punch holes into that kind of thing, especially if it prevents the players from abusing it later.

I remember once I was running a 10 Wizard/10 Cleric in a friend's off-the-wall game and there was a piece of treasure that dropped, something the GM was proud of designing.  He called it the Glove of Maximize Spell.  Pretty much, by sacrificing six spell-levels of divine or arcane power, the next spell cast is maximized.

The group looks at each other, then at me, and I cock my arm like a shotgun.  The look on the GM's face is one of absolute horror. The way he'd written the item was that it didn't matter what energy I sacrificed to power it- I almost always burned off low-level spells to fire off a fully-maxed damage Lightning Bolt or Fireball to kill problems outright.  This resulted in the death of the big bad's second-in-command, which caused the rest of the bad guys to end up significantly weakened- I took out the summoning and creation specialist who'd been tormenting us with her conjured creatures and golems, and given that they were the special forces of the big bad's army, well... it turned into a slugging match where the rest of the group struggled to clear the way to the target so I could blow them up and end them.

Two weeks before semester end, he calls off the campaign- he claimed he'd have to start throwing named demons at me to give me a challenge, and they would kill the rest of the party.


This is why we have to be adaptable as GMs. When your players kill your "big bad guy," you have to roll with the punches. It's going to happen no matter how well you plan. No plan withstands contact with the enemy? No Adventure withstands contact with the party. It's just the way it is. I would have broken your magic item to be honest. :)
Victor Hauptbauer
 player, 238 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:48
Re: OOC
In reply to Serrisa Lakelance (msg # 938):

Well I managed to convince him for most of the weapons that what I was saying was probably for the best (that adding a full broadside of cannons to a zeppelin basket would destroy the basket if they fired)...and pointing out gaps in his rules (when he re-did the gunpowder weapons, he left a loop hole originally that would allow one class to effectively build magazine fed rifles from 5th level).


Only took one horrific battle for him to decide not to ignore my advice (while over-run designed lancer cavalry are great....a narrow field and massed muskets are not a good target).
Buliwyf Ar Grainne Falconhold
 player, 333 posts
 Elect of the Sky
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:51
Re: OOC
In reply to Serrisa Lakelance (msg # 938):

<chuckle> yeah.  I'd have politely asked if I could take the magic item back and replace it with another.

We've an old joke about the "rod of undulating death" magic item.  It sounds like that was the Glove of undulating death!
Serrisa Lakelance
 player, 47 posts
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:53
Re: OOC
I was wondering if he was going to do that... But the worst one I gave up willingly. It was a crossbow developed for a children's game that launched magic dice that summoned monsters of various strengths depending on what was rolled.  The creatures are under the full control of the launcher, and only go away when unsummoned by the launcher.

A party really shouldn't be able to summon an elder gold dragon on a lucky roll and keep it around for the next three adventures to help with fighting and carrying the party around.  I have that item up because it was a campaign-wrecker in a box, and I wanted to keep playing.
Buliwyf Ar Grainne Falconhold
 player, 334 posts
 Elect of the Sky
Thu 2 May 2013
at 15:58
Re: OOC
And later those dice became Pokeballs! :)

Pikachu I choose you!
Katerina von Anselm
 player, 430 posts
 Unbent by Misfortune
Thu 2 May 2013
at 16:49
Re: OOC
In reply to Narrator (msg # 939) and Victor Hauptbauer (msg #940):

I see, thanks. Wanted to be sure about the semantics before it could pop up (even though it required a Dragon Die roll of 6 to even come up). Better to ask beforehand, eh? :)
Victor Hauptbauer
 player, 240 posts
Fri 3 May 2013
at 01:45
Re: OOC
just wait till you ding to 11. You get +! stunt points when you generate them.

It means you can afford Mighty blow AND lethal blow :P
Katerina von Anselm
 player, 431 posts
 Unbent by Misfortune
Fri 3 May 2013
at 01:49
Re: OOC
In reply to Victor Hauptbauer (msg # 947):

I'm actually capable of pulling off a Mighty Blow - Lethal Blow - Pierce Armor combo in the LotR game actually. With a ranged weapon.

Yes, provided it hits it's going to hurt.
Victor Hauptbauer
 player, 241 posts
Fri 3 May 2013
at 01:55
Re: OOC
SO rogue's pierce for 1 SP, Mighty Blow from two-hander for 1 SP and you must be going beserker for the 4 SP lethal blow.

don't forget you can knock opponents back if you are in two-hander style and you connect.
Narrator
 GM, 833 posts
Fri 3 May 2013
at 02:50
Re: OOC
Taking off now. Won't be back for about 24 hours. If I'm lucky sooner. I have a million and one commitments to keep. Might check in and read, but won't be in a position to post.
Katerina von Anselm
 player, 432 posts
 Unbent by Misfortune
Fri 3 May 2013
at 03:04
Re: OOC
In reply to Victor Hauptbauer (msg # 949):

Nope, magic weapon and two Rogue levels.

The weapon gives me Lethal Blow for free when rolling stunt points, and 2nd level Rogue gives me Pierce Armor for 1 SP. As a result, both trigger on ANY dragon die result rolling doubles. On a 6 i can tack on Mighty Blow as well for the regular 5.

As for survivability, Dexterity (Stealth) and backstab work pretty well, and with Rock Armor i've got myself a decent Mage that can hold her own without a warrior tanking for her, just as intended ^^

This message was last edited by the player at 03:05, Fri 03 May 2013.

Victor Hauptbauer
 player, 243 posts
Fri 3 May 2013
at 06:19
Re: OOC
the only problem is once you finish next to them.

if you want a high defence, go for fade shield. It makes your defense equal to your spellpower, and increases your spellpower by 2. Only downside, if you need to take arcane bolt and arcane shield, so it chews 3 spell slots.



@ GM

i'm getting the following msg:

quote:
This thread is nearing the 1,000 post limit.  Please request your GM creates a new thread.

Katerina von Anselm
 player, 434 posts
 Unbent by Misfortune
Fri 3 May 2013
at 14:39
Re: OOC
Actually, the only reason that it requests for new threads to be made is because the limit for archiving threads is 1k. I've seen much bigger OOC threads and it's not causing any errors really, so it's a matter of personal preference.