Rules Questions.   Posted by Kevlyn.Group: 0
lensman
 GM, 33 posts
 HEROphile since 81
 -8 GMT Crestline CA
Sun 29 Sep 2019
at 04:33
Re: Rules Questions
There are at least three answers I can think of.

First, in the spirit of the genre where there is a robot K9 for a Follower, yes, HRRH has broadcast and that can just be channeled through to a broadcast vox synth.

To hit exactly the K9 may need the Mimic skill

Lastly the k9 may need Images to have a way to project audio, using the Images modifier as a positive to other's PER of the Audio.

The last is really the technocratic answer.

EDIT: Two ideas that I thought of to add.

As a Robot/AI/Computer, just a program to perform the function. Cost 1 pt.

Second, unless the K9 has Mute, it can talk/speak normally.

This message was last edited by the GM at 06:02, Sun 29 Sept 2019.

JRScott
 player, 13 posts
Sun 29 Sep 2019
at 04:51
Re: Rules Questions
Keep in mind HRRP has a range just like all other powers. It's something we overlook often in the game, but if they were sufficiently far away then they would be out of range, unless they bought megascale or something.....

Assuming the two radio's are within range of one another then yes you could probably do what he wants, subject to range penalties.

lensman has some good ideas on other aspects.
Cody Reimers
 player, 4 posts
Mon 14 Oct 2019
at 09:33
Re: Rules Questions
So I decided to read through the whole rulebook instead of just looking at whatever I need at the moment (I'd done this before for 5E but not 6E) and I had a thought reading the entry for Penalty Skill Levels. On Page 84 of 6E1, left side middle of the page, it says:

"A character cannot use OPSLs to increase OCV generally... Nor can he buy OPSLs to counteract the standard OCV penalty imposed by a Combat Maneuver (such as the -3 OCV for a Grab By)..."

And that all makes sense. But here's the question: can you use PSLs to counteract halving/zeroing of your CVs? Like you can't use OPSLs to counteract the -3 OCV of Grab By, but once you have successfully grabbed the target, that penalty goes away, but if the target is a character, you gain a 1/2 OCV penalty for having an active grab on a character against all other characters. Can you buy OPSLs to counter that effect? I have my own intuitions about what's the right interpretation but I want to see if there are any interesting arguements from the community that might make me reconsider.
lensman
 GM, 34 posts
 HEROphile since 81
 -8 GMT Crestline CA
Mon 14 Oct 2019
at 18:18
Re: Rules Questions
HERO 6th ed., Vol 1, 84 pg.:
Penalty Skill Levels (PSLs) are a type of Skill
Level that only reduce or counteract a specific
type of combat-related penalty. They come in two
varieties, Offensive and Defensive.


The answer always is: not direct combat penalties.

As any effect on OCV from the Grab is a direct combat related OCV penalty, OPSL do not apply.

You know it is a direct combat penalty when it is described wiithin the maneuver itself.

This message was last edited by the GM at 18:21, Mon 14 Oct 2019.

soulsight
 player, 35 posts
Mon 14 Oct 2019
at 18:46
Re: Rules Questions
My personal take is PSL's should never be used where CSL's can apply. If you want to counteract the 'modifier' listed on a combat maneuver, purchase CSL's with the maneuver. They're more versatile, anyway.
It takes twice as many to counteract the 'halving' thing, but they'll still work.
Nothing saves you from being zeroed. Everybody knows that.
novi
 player, 1 post
Mon 6 Jan 2020
at 22:16
Re: Rules Questions
Did Steve Long ever talk about what a Reduce Density power would look like?  Not necessarily staged Desolidification, but being able reduce your weight?  What and if it would have any standard game effects?
cptcthulhu
 player, 20 posts
Mon 6 Jan 2020
at 23:52
Re: Rules Questions
What, like Shrinking with the limitation "does not change size'?
DBCowboy
 player, 17 posts
Wed 8 Jan 2020
at 03:17
Re: Rules Questions
Not that I've seen but seems like you could model it with something like a a physical limitations of increased knockback and a small amount of uncontrolled flight when windy.
novi
 player, 2 posts
Wed 8 Jan 2020
at 23:04
Re: Rules Questions
Okay.  Thanks.  It can be hard to keep track of all the optional rules.  Reducing one's weight isn't something that comes up that often, but a character I'm working should be able to do that as part of her powers.  I was just trying to figure out what it would be good for.  Sounds like maybe some goofy shrinking and maybe some a la carte stunts.
soulsight
 player, 37 posts
Thu 9 Jan 2020
at 03:01
Re: Rules Questions
You could always treat it as a special effect. Define the abilities you think it needs to supply, and give 'Density Decrease' as the sfx. Here's a quick forty point sampler:
    Density Decrease
  • Semi-Solid Form:  (Total: 100 Active Cost, 41 Real Cost) Energy Damage Reduction, Resistant, 50% (30 Active Points); Side Effects, Side Effect occurs automatically whenever Power is used (+6m Knockback; -1) (Real Cost: 15) plus Physical Damage Reduction, Resistant, 50% (30 Active Points); Side Effects, Side Effect occurs automatically whenever Power is used (+6m Knockback; -1) (Real Cost: 15) plus Desolidification, cannot be touched, doesn’t register on Sonar or Radar, and emits no scent (40 Active Points); Does Not Protect Against Damage (-1), Side Effects, Side Effect occurs automatically whenever Power is used (+6m Knockback; -1), Cannot Pass Through Solid Objects (-1/2) (Real Cost: 11)
  • Leaping +40m (44m forward, 22m upward) (20 Active Points); Side Effects, Side Effect occurs automatically whenever Power is used (+6m Knockback; -1) (Real Cost: 10)
  • Lighter Than Air:  Flight 20m (20 Active Points); Gliding (-1), Side Effects, Side Effect occurs automatically whenever Power is used (+6m Knockback; -1) (Real Cost: 7)
  • Easier to Climb:  Clinging (20 STR) (14 Active Points); Side Effects, Side Effect occurs automatically whenever Power is used (+6m Knockback; -1), Cannot Resist Knockback (-1/4) (Real Cost: 6)
  • Lighter is Quieter:  +5 with Stealth (10 Active Points); Side Effects, Side Effect occurs automatically whenever Power is used (+6m Knockback; -1) (Real Cost: 5)
  • Walking on Air: Naked Advantage, Usable [As Second Mode Of Movement] (Running Usable as Flight; +1/4) for up to 12 Active Points of Running (12m) (3 Active Points); Side Effects, Side Effect occurs automatically whenever Power is used (+6m Knockback; -1) (Real Cost: 1)


Edit - I left out the last suggested power.

This message was last edited by the player at 20:33, Sat 11 Jan.

Cody Reimers
 player, 7 posts
Wed 25 Mar 2020
at 05:14
Re: Rules Questions
Hey, the rulebooks are big and I remember reading about this somewhere, but I can't remember where. Also possible I'm just remembering an old 5E rule, so I want to see if anyone here knows and can set the record straight. When you buy Resistant Protection at a certain value, when you improve it, do you have to maintain that ratio? Say you bought 18rPD/9rED, and you want to increase the rED to 15. Do you HAVE to increase the rPD to 30? I think you were required to in 5E, but can't remember for sure for 6E.
JRScott
 player, 14 posts
Wed 25 Mar 2020
at 05:23
Re: Rules Questions
It's not a rule in 6E.

I believe it was removed because you can just improve your PD or ED and buy the resistant advantage on it now to circumvent the old rules. There wasn't such an advantage beforehand.

The only rule on the rations now is that if you have a defense power that gives you say 12 PDr/6 EDr that ratio has to be maintained even if you use it at a lower level or push it to a higher one (so if you used it at half power would be 6 PDr/ 3 EDr.

I hope things are going well for you Cody. Sorry my health crashed so badly last year.
Cody Reimers
 player, 8 posts
Wed 25 Mar 2020
at 06:01
Re: Rules Questions
Okay. That's what I thought, but like I said, couldn't remember for sure. I did notice the rule for using it at a lower strength. I think that Adjustments to Resistant Protection are also supposed to maintain the existing ratio as much as possible, too.

Things are going alright for me. And there's nothing to apologize for, these are just games, and I was never perfect either, so... In any case, good to see we're both trying to do stuff.
JRScott
 player, 15 posts
Wed 25 Mar 2020
at 11:11
Re: Rules Questions
As GM you are of course free to keep that rule, just because it's not in the book anymore doesn't mean you have to disregard it.
Cody Reimers
 player, 9 posts
Wed 25 Mar 2020
at 16:33
Re: Rules Questions
That's true, but I also play in a game, so knowing the baseline rule is still helpful. In any case, I always disliked that rule; I don't think it really makes sense. Just makes it harder to have a character whose stronger in some defenses than others. Over the course of a long enough campaign, you'll definitely improve all your defenses, but what if you want the weaker defenses to become less bad compared to the good defenses?
stealth
 player, 5 posts
Wed 25 Mar 2020
at 16:36
Re: Rules Questions
From 5th Revised:

"Characters can only buy Armor for PD/ED. They must specify the type of Armor defense (PD/ED) when they buy the Armor. For example if a character spent 21 points he could have 14PD/0ED, 7PD/7ED or any other combination that totalled 14 points. The character cannot change this combination, though they can spend EXP to add to their existing Armor."

I would read that as you can't swap around the points after you buy it, but you can spend EXP to add additional points split between them as you wish.

I couldn't comment on 6th - I've not spent enough time playing around with it to say how its changed.
soulsight
 player, 38 posts
Thu 26 Mar 2020
at 01:12
Re: Rules Questions
Sixth eliminated that restriction by lumping everything under a 'resistant defenses' power. As to ratios, increases during play, et al, the important point is not what the rules do say as much as it is what they don't. It's already considered normal to have multiple 'resistant defenses' powers based on advantages and limitations so why wouldn't it be reasonable to have multiple 'resistant defenses' powers based on special effects? Once the defenses are divided into separate 'slots' by being different powers, manipulating the ratios between them wouldn't be difficult, at all.
Cody Reimers
 player, 10 posts
Thu 26 Mar 2020
at 03:13
Re: Rules Questions
But by making multiple Resistant Protection Powers - one for rPD, one for rED, etc.- you make your defenses far more vulnerable to Adjustment if the Resistant Protection Powers are Unified - which they might be because there's other powers they're Unified with; say you have an armor suit that provides rPD and rED and also some Life Supports and some Attack Powers, and you would like to A) represent these using one Focus (an OIF), and B) Unified Power. Adjustment Powers with Expanded Effect would similarly have their effectiveness on your defenses doubled. THAT is why you put all your Resistant defenses in one Power.
soulsight
 player, 39 posts
Thu 26 Mar 2020
at 04:45
Re: Rules Questions
That's the intended effect of using the 'unified power' limitation. It has nothing to do with separating the defenses into various distinct powers.
Cody Reimers
 player, 11 posts
Thu 26 Mar 2020
at 06:12
Re: Rules Questions
Alright, here's my understanding of how Adjustment Powers are supposed to work.

Let's use the armor suit example I was talking about earlier. You have this character with the armor suit, and are thinking of adding Resistant Protection, and you know you want it to be Unified. The armor suit also has a Blast 12d6 Power, defined as an arm canon that fires pellets or rays of energy.

When you consider how to construct the Resistant Protection, you could build it as a single Resistant Protection Power with 10 rPD and 10 rED or as two separate ones, one with 10 rPD and another one with 10 rED.

Let's imagine what happens when this character gets into a fight with an enemy that can negatively Adjust Blasts, which is Unified with the Resistant Protection Power(s). Just to have a name, let's call the theoretical hero Defender; he uses an armor suit, after all. He encounters a villain, Annihilator, who can tear apart any object with his mere presence. He uses his "Annihilate Weapon" Power to Drain Defender's Blast, hits, and rolls 20 for his Effect Roll. All Powers that the Blast is Unified with also 20 Active Points.

Scenario 1: Defender's player chose to build the Resistant Protection as one Power with 10 rPD and 10 rED, which has 30 Active Points. His Blast was Drained 20 Active Points, and so his Resistant Protection should also be Drained 20 Active Points, which it has 30; however, since Resistant Protection is a Defense Power, every Active Point counts as two. Resistant Protection is also bought in increments of 2 defense per 3 Active Points, so for every 6 Active Points in the Drain's Effect Roll, the Resistant Protection loses 2 points of defense, with 2 Active Points of Drain not having an effect yet. Defender's Resistant Protection is knocked down to 7 rPD and 7 rED.

Scenario 2: Defender's player chose to build the Resistant Protection as two Powers. One Power is 10 rPD and 0 rED, the other Power is 0 rPD and 10 rED. Each of those Powers gets Drained 20 Active Points. As said before, Resistant Protection is a Defense Power bought in increments of 2 defense per 3 Active Points. The first Power is now 4 rPD and 0 rED, with 2 points of Drain not having an effect yet, and the second Power is now 0 rPD and 4 rED, with 2 points of Drain not having an effect yet.
soulsight
 player, 40 posts
Thu 26 Mar 2020
at 14:42
Re: Rules Questions
OIC. Yes, dividing the defenses into separate distinct powers does make them more vulnerable to adjustment powers. That would be the price paid to circumvent the rule about maintaining the ratios of the purchased defenses.
quozaxx
 player, 1 post
Thu 26 Mar 2020
at 23:15
Re: Rules Questions
In reply to Cody Reimers (msg # 44):

I need a quick reference guide to hit locations
I don't have my book with me and thought an easy find reference would be awesome
Thanks in advance
lensman
 GM, 35 posts
 HEROphile since 81
 -8 GMT Crestline CA
Thu 26 Mar 2020
at 23:18
Re: Rules Questions
 STUNxN STUNBODYxto HITRH  R PDRH  R EDWoundsBody taken
3  Neckx5x2x2-8-   5-   3  
4  Facex5x2x2-8-   5-   3  
5  Crownx5x2x2-8-   5-   3  
6  Handx1x.5x.5-6-   5-   3  
7  Armx2x.5x.5-5-   5-   3  
8  U Armx2x.5x.5-5-   5-   3  
9  Shoulderx3x1x1-54   54   3  
10  Chestx3x1x1-34   54   3  
11  Chestx3x1x1-34   54   3  
12  Stomachx4x1.5x1-74   54   3  
13  Vitalsx4x1.5x2-84   54   3  
14  Thighx2x1x1-4-   5-   3  
15  Kneex2x.5x.5-6-   5-   3  
16  Legx2x.5x.5-6-   5-   3  
17  Anklex1x.5x.5-8-   5-   3  
18  Footx1x.5x.5-8-   5-   3  

SPECIAL HIT LOCATION TABLE
General LocationOCVDice Roll
Head Shot (Head-Shoulders)-41d6+3
High Shot (Head-Vitals)-22d6+1
Body Shot (Hands-Legs)-12d6+4
Low Shot (Shoulders-Feet)-22d6+7*
Leg Shot (Vitals-Feet)-41d6+12

This message was last edited by the GM at 23:18, Thu 26 Mar.

quozaxx
 player, 2 posts
Thu 26 Mar 2020
at 23:50
Re: Rules Questions
In reply to lensman (msg # 47):

You are awesome
Thanks
DBCowboy
 player, 18 posts
Thu 26 Mar 2020
at 23:51
Re: Rules Questions
On the previous topic of maintaining ratio of PD/ED (resistant or otherwise) defenses....

I don't find anywhere in the rules that stipulate how you are allow to improve your defenses over time.  Nothing that prohibits how you can spend XP.

The only ratio requirement I've come across is under the Defense Power description on 6E1 p146:

quote:
If a character buys a Defense Power that requires him to specify how many points of PD and ED it provides (such as Resistant Protection) as a slot in a Power Framework, he must still define the points when he buys the Power.  If he uses the Power at less than full strength, he reduces its protection in proportion — he cannot vary the defense provided or change the allocation. For example, suppose a character has a Multipower with a 60-point reserve. One of the slots is Resistant Protection (20 PD/20 ED). The Resistant Protection must always provide PD and ED in equal proportion. If he only uses 15 points’ worth of Resistant Protection, it provides 5 PD/5 ED — he cannot only use 10 points of PD without using any ED.


Adjustment powers like Drain would apply to Defenses in equal proportions (6E1 p196 for Drain).  Regardless if you purchased Resistant Defense as 2 separate powers, a Drain Resistant Defense would still affect both unless the Drain was specifically limited to Drain Resistant PD (possibly because it has a Limitation?)