Martial Arts.   Posted by Pyrosorc.Group: 0
 GM, 4 posts
Thu 14 Apr 2011
at 10:49
Martial Arts
Green-Eyed Martyr Style (Work in Progress)
Green-Eyed Martyr Style dates back to the Ochre Fountain Era, when a now-unknown eclipse caste solar was brought before the court of Queen Merela and tasked with the execution of her own lunar mate: a powerful full moon akuma who was rallying a dangerous force of demon-spawn left behind in Creation. Ashamed and heart-broken, the Golden Vassal Hero fought her mate furiously but found herself caught off guard by the unexpected power and ferocity of the lunarís new infernal powers. Barely escaping with her life, she retired from the public eye to meditate on her defeat and on the power granted to the demon-tainted.

After several years of study the Quicksilver Falcon emerged from hiding heavily mutated and barely holding on to her sanity, but successful in her quest. She had successfully summoned a demon and forced it to submit to her will, binding it permanently to her very essence so as to use its infernal power to supplement her own without having to give herself to the Yozis. Such an effort was proving a constant strain on her will however, as the demonís energies twisted her mind and body the more she drew on them until she resembled as much of a monster as her former lover.

Eventually the full moon akuma was defeated, but the histories do not record whether his death was brought about by the original green-eyed martyr or some other being.

The Yozis are aware of the existence of this martial arts style, but Malfeas has decided not to take any action against it at the urging of the Ebon Dragon. Instead, some of the Yozisí more cunning servants seek guide those who are weak of will to someone who will teach them, or to provoke those who already practice the style into pushing themselves one step too far.

Initiation into Green-Eyed Martyr Style is a gruelling ordeal, but it's charms may not be taken by anyone who has not been through it. Either the practitioner or an assistant must first summon a metody - one of the vitriol elementals from Malfeas. From the the practicioner is alone - he must break the creature's will and forcibly consume it during a thaumaturgic ritual of binding, which sears the metody permanently into part of the character's soul.

Martyr's Binding (1, Willpower, 4, One Hour): This ritual represents the struggle to keep control of one's self during the binding of a metody, as desribed above. This ritual will still be successful even if the roll to cast it is failed - however, for each point by which the initiate fails his roll, he gains one permenant point of corruption (see below). Usually the metody must have had its will broken before this ritual can be started - however, on some occasions when infernal forces have managed to arrange for someone weak of will to attempt any initiation into this style, the metody will not resist.

This ritual automatically fails for anyone already aligned to the cause of the yozi - that is, anyone who has already sworn oaths of loyalty to them, or acts in a similar level of interest. The power of this style is drawn from the conflict of two opposing wills and it will not function if that conflict is not there. Savants theorise that a sister-style may be possible for infernalists who bind themselves to Creation's elementals - but fortunately, no such martial artists have ever been reported.

Weapons & Armour:
This style may only be practiced in light armour. Typically martyrs favour light pieces of plate, strapped to the body at strategic locations. Form-weapons for Green-Eyed Martyr style are the straight sword and tiger claws, plus their artifact equivilents. These weapons count as unarmed for the purposes of the charms in this style.

New Keyword: Cascade
Charms with the Cascade keyword may only be activated when all of their listed prerequisite charms are already activated. They do not become inactive if prerequisite charms subsequently end. As a clarification, permanent charms with this keyword have no effect unless their prerequisite charms are active.

New Keyword: Corruption #
Whenever a charm with the Corruption keyword is activated, the practitioner adds the listed number of dice to her Corruption Pool then rolls the entire pool and compares it to her Dodge MDV. If the result exceeds her Dodge MDV then she gains a permanent point of Corruption. If the result exceeds her MDV by 5 or greater, the practitioner is consumed by the vitriolic essence of her inner demon and effectively becomes an akuma; her Motivation replaced by an Urge by the metody within. The fallen Martyr may spend 1wp to stave off her plight for a single action, but once she is out of willpower her case is useless. Practitioners are strongly encouraged to use this time to have a friend take their lives. Upon actually losing control entirely, the new akuma immediately gains up to their maximum value of temporary willpower.

An 'akuma' brought about in such a fashion finds her memories morphed to support the new state of her intimacies. She gains no experience and does not receive the opportunity to reassign any of her traits; instead, the highest essence form-type charm learned by the character becomes permanent. Although there are exceptions, such beings tend to become insatiable killing machines displaying more animal cunning than actual intelligence. Anyone who successfully binds a demon to themselves but is incapable of performing Celestial level martial arts automatically suffers this fate, as they do not possess enough control over the essence flows within their own body to control the demon.

At any time when she is able to act, the character take a miscellaneous action and spend 1wp to remove 2 dice from her Corruption Pool, but this may never remove dice of permanent Corruption. No more than one such action may be placed in a single flurry. She may also spend willpower or channel a virtue to cancel a success or remove dice from any individual roll of the Corruption Pool, respectively. Finally, if a character reaches a permanent Corruption equal to the twice the Corruption score of a form-type charm in this style, that charm becomes permanent.

Example: Kensho has a dodge MDV of 8 and 1 dice of permanent Corruption. When he activates Green-Eyed Martyr form, he gains 1 dice of Corruption and immediately rolls 2 dice (1 temporary + 1 permanent) and compares the result to his dodge MDV. For now Kensho is safe even if he rolls two 10s.

Later on, Kensho has already used Baiting the Demon three times and is now about to use it again. This puts his temporary Corruption pool up to a total of 13, plus his 1 permanent Corruption. He immediately rolls it and gets 10,10,9,9,8,7,6,6,4,2,1,1,1 Ė equal to his MDV. For now he is safe, but he only just made that roll so decides to stop taking risks. If he had rolled one more success, he would have exceeded his MDV and gained another point of permanent Corruption. Because this would have raised his total permanent Corruption to 2, Green-Eyed Martyr Form would have become permanent.

New Action: Defensive Aim (Speed 3 / DV -1)
This is presented as a new action type available to all characters, not just practicioners of the style. The defencive aim follows all timing and targetting rules of the regular aim, but instead of adding dice to a single attack against that target it adds dice to the parry or dodge pool used against that target's next attack. The -1DV penalty does not apply against the target the character is focusing on - only other attackers. If the defencive aim is aborted to attack, that attack suffers a -1 external penalty.


Two as One Approach
Cost: 4m; Mins: Martial Arts 2, Essence 2; Type: Reflexive
Keywords: Combo-OK, Action-Only
Duration: One Action
Prerequisite Charms: None
While the demon within might fight for the practitionerís mind, its existence is tied to the life-force of its hostís body. Invoking this charm, the martial artist lets her demonís reflexes to guide her arm, allowing her to focus her mind on the task hand free of the pressure of combat.

A Martyr who use this charm are capable of appearing relaxed and serene while their sword arm flashes about with a life of its own. While this charm is active, the practitioner suffers no penalties due to taking an aim action and any accuracy bonus from aiming carries over to multiple attacks. So long as this charm is reactivated each action, the character's aim may even carry over to multiple actions, allowing the martyr to retain the benefits of an aim or defensive aim for longer.

If Green-Eyed Martyr Form is active, Two as One Approach may be activated for 0m without counting as a charm activation. Using it in this manner gives it the Corruption 1 keyword, however.

Green-Eyed Martyr Form
Cost: 4m; Mins: Martial Arts 3, Essence 2; Type: Simple
Keywords: Form-Type, Obvious, Combo-Basic, Corruption 1
Duration: One Scene
Prerequisite Charms: Two as One Approach
Focusing inwards, the martial artist seeks out the barrier between herself and her inner demon, then with a deliberate strain of will weakens it without letting it collapse. Her eyes immediately turn the glowing emerald green of Liger and her pupils contract into slits. At this stage, the only obvious aspect of the characterís transformation is her eyes as the level of infernal essence running through her body is enough to empower her but not large enough to provide much other dramatic effect.

For the duration of this charm, all of the characters physical attributes, her wits and her perception increase by 1 and she may parry lethal and ranged attacks unarmed without a stunt. She also receives a one mote discount to all charms in this style, to a minimum of zero motes. This power comes at a price however: the martial artist is considered a Creature of Darkness if she was not previously. Any active holy effects immediately terminate and the holy properties of any attuned artifacts are subdued for as long as this charm is active.

If known by an exalt, Green-Eyed Martyr Form may be activated concurrently with the form charm from that exalt's hero style.

Baiting the Demon
Cost: 0m; Mins: Martial Arts 2, Essence 2; Type: Reflexive
Keywords: Combo-OK, Action-Only, Reactor, Corruption 3
Duration: Instant
Prerequisite Charms: Green-Eyed Martyr Form
True power does not belong to the strong, but to those who control the strong. Using this charm, the martial artist abandons all attempts to control her inner-demon for the briefest instant, allowing its twisted essence to jolt through her body like lightning before forcefully slamming her mental barrier into place again. Even such a short exposure has its toll on the userís mind and body, but the momentary relief from the battle within herself gives the martyr a new burst of energy. The martial artist regains 1 mote of essence for every success on the corruption roll subsequent to activating this charm. This increases to 2 motes of essence recovery per success if any form-type charm from this style is already active. This charm may not be used by those who have succumbed to corruption and become akuma.

Demon-Body Ambush
Cost: 3m; Mins: Martial Arts 3, Essence 2; Type: Supplemental
Keywords: Combo-OK, Cascade, Obvious
Duration: Instant
Prerequisite Charms: Green-Eyed Martyr Form
The body of a demon is not bound by the same laws as the body of a human. Using this charm, the martial artist blurs the lines between the two. This charm supplements any unarmed attack made by the character. The limbs used in the attack elongate and strengthen more than their size would suggest. An attack supplemented by this charm gains the P and R tags and its minimum damage is increased by 1.

If the character has Green-Eyed Monster Form active, they may pay a 4m surcharge when activating this charm. Doing so makes the limb stretch and attack in an instant, allowing the martyr to roll to reestablish surprise. This uses the normal rules, but the martyr adds their current corruption total to their dice pool unless the opponent has access to some form of essence sight.

Green Eyed Monster Form
Cost: 5m; Mins: Martial Arts 4, Essence 3; Type: Simple
Keywords: Form-Type, Obvious, Combo-Basic, Corruption 2
Duration: One Scene
Prerequisite Charms: Green-Eyed Martyr Form
The character loosens the boundary between man and demon even further then in this charmís prerequisite. The physical pain that burns through her body is barely offset but the rush of power that comes with it. The Martyrís veins bulge out as her skin takes on a sickly tinge and her teeth and nails harden and lengthen into hideous weapons.

When Green Eyed Monster Form is activated, the character still retains all benefits of its prerequisite, including bonuses to other charms which require Green Eyed Martyr Form to be active. His strength and stamina increase by a further 1 and the martyr receives another 1m discount to all charms in this style. He also gains the claws and fangs mutations if he did not have them already and his natural lethal soak increases to his full stamina. However, his appearance drops to 0 and if the character needs to spend willpower to show restraint for any reason, that willpower cost increases by 1.


Dynamic Form Transition
Green Eyed Martyr Style came into being when an exalt's best just didn't seem to be enough, so she drew strength from darker powers. It's strength is drawn from the tension and conflict between opposing forces within one being's mind. These themes are reflected in the style's form transition, the options for which apply to all of its forms.

Due to Dynamic Form Transition allowing Form-Type charms to be activated reflexively and without a charm activation, it is theoretically possible for a martyr to cascade through more than one of this style's forms at once. However, this is only possible if multiple transition requisites are met at the same time - one condition must be met for each form activation used in this method. For this purpose, the same condition may be met multiple times, as explained below.

Martyr's may activate any of this style's Form-Type charms reflexively if :

ē The practitioner gains a point of limit or equivilent. This counts as being met multiple times if more than one point is gained.
ē The practitioner spends willpower on an action or set of actions, which subsequently fail. This counts as being met multiple times if more than one point of willpower was spent. It is also counted an additional time if a virtue was channeled on that action.
ē The practitioner gains a point of permanent corruption. This condition is met for each point of permanent corruption gained and also allows the practicioner to activate the form charm for 0m.

This message was last edited by the GM at 08:10, Wed 15 June 2011.

 GM, 5 posts
Thu 14 Apr 2011
at 10:51
Re: Martial Arts
Dragonís Tail Style

This style reflects the way the elemental dragons may heft their heavy limbs as effortlessly as men move their own bodies.  It may be practiced in armour of any weight and treats the great sword as unarmed for the purposes of charms in this style.   Anglok Dragon-Kings who learn this style find that their hefty tails work perfectly with this style too, although it was not designed with them in mind.  This style is elementally aspected to earth if such rules are still in use.

Bulk Belies Speed
Cost: 2m; Mins: Martial Arts 2, Essence 1; Type: Reflexive
Keywords: Combo-OK
Duration: One Action
Prerequisite Charms: None
                Despite his apparent burden, the exalt launches into motion with an unprecedented burst of power.  The exalt ignores any mobility penalty from his armour for one action.  If used as he joins battle, this charm lets him add a number of dice equal to the strength required to wield his weapon to the exaltís join battle.

Body as Anvil Trap
Cost: 2m; Mins: Martial Arts 2, Essence 1; Type: Reflexive (Step 9)
Keywords: Combo-OK, Counterattack
Duration: Instant
Prerequisite Charms: None
Although the dragon is quite capable of leaping to crush its enemies, sometimes it is easier to let its foolish prey come to it.  After their puny attacks break against its scales, the dragon is in the perfect position to crush its overexposed opponent.

Using this charm provides an unblockable, unarmed counterattack in step 9.  It may only be used in response to a successful close combat attack when the martial artist did not attempt to dodge nor parry the attack, including attacks that the exalt was not able to respond to due to being unexpected.

Dragonís Tail Form
Cost: 5m; Mins: Martial Arts 4, Essence 2; Type: Simple (Speed 4)
Keywords: Combo-Basic, Form-Type
Duration: One Scene
Prerequisite Charms: Bulk Belies Speed, Body as Anvil Trap
                The dragon spares no effort in its attack, but its heavily scaled body does not fail to provide defence just because it is being thrown at an opponent.  While this charm is active, the exalt may wield a two handed weapon with one hand so long as he holds a shield in the other.  He may make unarmed parries against lethal attacks without a stunt.  Finally the exalt adds his stamina to his natural bashing and lethal soaks.

Dynamic Form Transition: Whenever the exalt either knocks a foe back outside of that enemyís own engagement range or if he is struck by an attack but suffers no damage, he may activate this charm reflexively.  This latter condition does not apply if the exalt negates the damage with a charm bearing a flaw of invulnerability.

Sweep the Lair
Cost: 1m per target, 1wp; Mins: Martial Arts 4, Essence 2; Type: Simple (Speed 6, DV -2)
Keywords: Combo-OK, Knockback
Duration: InstantPrerequisite Charms: Dragonís Tail Form
                Gathering his might for one mighty slash, the martial artist releases his pent up energy in one fell strike aimed at clearing the space around him.  He makes a single unarmed attack and applies it to any number of targets within range one at a time, paying 1 mote per target.  As this attack consists of a single sweeping blow, he must attack in a linear fashion and cannot skip foes out if they are in the way Ė for example if three men approach him side by side, then the man in the middle must be the second target struck.

Each opponent successfully hit by this charm automatically suffers knockback and is forced to check against knockdown at a difficulty of the exaltís martial arts.  However, if a target either successfully parries the attack or somehow resists being knocked back, the attack stops there and does not continue on to further targets.  There is no mote refund for targets the attack does not reach.

Spreading Weighted Wings
Cost: 4m; Mins: Martial Arts 4, Essence 2; Type: Reflexive (Step 1 or 2)
Keywords: Combo-OK
Duration: One Action
Prerequisite Charms: Dragonís Tail Form
                The exalt takes a balanced stance, holding his sword wide if he wields one.  Squaring his feet on the ground, somehow he simultaneously seems too heavy to move and light enough to react in an instant.  He adds two to the rate of his greatsword if he holds one (to a maximum of 5) or one to the rate of each hand if truly unarmed.  For the rest of the action he adds his stamina in successes to rolls to resist knockdown and reduces the distance he is knocked back by twice that amount.  He may also activate Body as Anvil Trap without counting as a charm activation while Spreading Weighted Wings is active, adding one automatic success to the attack roll.

Crashing Earth Momentum
Cost: 3m, 1wp; Mins: Martial Arts 5, Essence 3; Type: Reflexive (Step 2)
Keywords: Combo-OK, Counterattack, Emotion
Duration: Varies
Prerequisite Charms: Sweep the Lair, Spreading Weighted Wings
The exalt may make his weapon look light, but he can use its weight when needed.  When the enemy attacks the exalt throws his body either into or away from the attack.  This charms lesser form is to move away from the attack, in which case the exalt may reflexively move his stamina yards away from his attacker.  Less desperate practitioners usually prefer this charms other function however.

Throwing his weight into the attack, the martial artist forfeits the right to attempt any form of dodge.  He makes a single unarmed counterattack against his enemy, which automatically causes knockdown if it connects.  A downed foe is subjected to an unnatural emotion effect which makes him fear to move under the exaltís stern gaze.  He may not rise from prone or apply his DV in any fashion which involves moving while the martial artist stands over him or until he shakes off this emotion for a cost of 2 willpower.

This message was last edited by the GM at 12:48, Thu 28 July 2011.