Out of Character Chat.   Posted by The Gamesmaster.Group: 0
Vithrain
 player, 71 posts
 Wizard
 Brother to Elstarir
Tue 19 Feb 2013
at 13:37
Re: Out of Character Chat
I figured that would make more sense. No point carrying it around while walking round town - one slip of the cloth carrying it and the towns'folk would be in uproar and dismay.

Get the clues, get ready to leave, send someone back for the shield. Leave.
Mannath
 player, 51 posts
 Rogue
Tue 19 Feb 2013
at 21:55
Re: Out of Character Chat
In reply to Vithrain (msg # 178):

Fine by me...
The Handmaiden
 player, 12 posts
Tue 19 Feb 2013
at 22:04
Re: Out of Character Chat
The Gamesmaster:


You retrace your steps from the armoury and make your way to the market-square.

Even the death of Baron Bluestone does not prevent the traders making their daily living, and the market-square is busy. Exotic goods, fine cloths and succulent foodstuffs adorn shops, stalls, carts and barrows. Business is brisk, and the locals have little time to take notice of strangers, though the Tarrian draws a glance or two; barbarian warroresses are rare even in cosmopolitan Kallamehr.

As you pass through the throng, a cry goes up. The crowds part as a lanky, ill-formed youth shoulders his way through, wildly swinging a vicious looking cudgel. Behind him, sprawled in a quivering heap, you can see a rich merchant. There is no room to draw a sword, and even if you did you would risk hurting innocent bystanders.



OOC: The thief is making directly for you, aiming to squeeze through the packed crowd and get away. If you try and avoid him Test for Luck. If you succeed he ignores you, if you fail he clips you with his cudgel (take 2 STAMINA points of damage) on his way through.

If you want to stop him you'll have to fight him without weapons (he might not care his swings smack a bystander in the face but you aren't going to accidently gut some civilian with a stray sword sweep). Fight with -4 to your Attack Strength since you have to rely on your fists and the odd headbutt. Temporarily replace your damage roll with this:

Unarmed Attack: 1 1 1 1 1 2

Tarrian still adds + 1 from Strongarm Talent.


LARGO THE SWIFT
SKILL 6 STAMINA 10

Armour: None
Attack: 1 2 2 2 3 3



I don't want to kill the thief: with unarmed combat will we give him full damage (until death) or he will be just stunned and unconscious, but still alive?

BTW, if there is no way to avoid killing Largo, Chadda fights with knives, so she should be able to draw them?
The Gamesmaster
 GM, 95 posts
Tue 19 Feb 2013
at 22:39
Re: Out of Character Chat
Unarmed combat will leaving him unconcious if he hits 0 STAMINA (going below that means you misjudged your blows and he's dead.)
The Handmaiden
 player, 13 posts
Tue 19 Feb 2013
at 23:06
Re: Out of Character Chat
Can we somehow grapple him instead? We are 5 vs 1...
Vithrain
 player, 74 posts
 Wizard
 Brother to Elstarir
Tue 19 Feb 2013
at 23:16
Re: Out of Character Chat
Sorted. You lot sit on him. Or something. I've done the hard work :D
The Gamesmaster
 GM, 96 posts
Tue 19 Feb 2013
at 23:43
Re: Out of Character Chat
Vithrain: Er, no you haven't. Tripping him merely stops him escaping you still have to actually fight him.

(Also remember you reduce your LUCK by 1 every time you test it - your LUCK is down to 6.)

Handmaiden: You more or less are trying to grapple him; hence the -4 unarmed penalty. There certainly isn't room to pile up on top of him, this is a deadly melee in the midst of a panicking, moving crowd.
Vithrain
 player, 75 posts
 Wizard
 Brother to Elstarir
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 00:06
Re: Out of Character Chat
The Gamesmaster:
Vithrain: Er, no you haven't. Tripping him merely stops him escaping you still have to actually fight him.

(Also remember you reduce your LUCK by 1 every time you test it - your LUCK is down to 6.)



Sasen frasen rasen. god damn....!

Well, I forgot to add in my Staff skill of +1...but even so both rolls succeed even without that.

I have still walked over to the merchant.
Vithrain
 player, 76 posts
 Wizard
 Brother to Elstarir
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 13:58
Re: Out of Character Chat
I have to admit being absolutely lost with regards the fighting. how the hell does it all work? Tarrian vs Largo for example. Can someone break it down for me please.

This message was last edited by the player at 13:59, Wed 20 Feb 2013.

Tarrian
 player, 36 posts
 Adventurer
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 14:11
Re: Out of Character Chat
quote:
Heroes will often face foul creatures and evil monsters in combat, and the battle is resolved as follows:

1: The Player rolls two 6-sided dice (2D6) and adds the result to his SKILL and any appropriate special skill. This is the Hero’s attack total.

2: The Director rolls two 6-sided dice and adds the result to the monsters SKILL. This is the monster's attack total.

3: Which ever combatant has the highest attack total wins that combat round. If both totals are the same, both fighters have avoided each others blows and the combat round ends.

4: The winner of the combat round rolls one 6-sided die and looks at the appropriate weapon chart on their Hero sheet or given in the adventure for the monster. The result from that chart is the amount of STAMINA damage inflicted on the opponent.

5: The loser also rolls one 6-sided die and looks at the armour chart on their Hero sheet (if they have an armour that is!!) or given for the monster. The result from this chart is deducted from any damage, and whatever remains is deducted from their current STAMINA.

6: Progress to the next round of combat and repeat!  If any of the combatants reach 0 STAMINA, they will fall unconscious, and a monster can be considered to be dead.

This process will apply to combats between two opponents. If more than one enemy fights a single combatant, then the single combatant must declare which of his opponents he will attack. All combatants must roll attack totals as normal, although if the “extra” opponent has a higher attack total than the single combatant, he will inflict a wound. This “extra” combatant cannot however be injured if he has a lower total.

Vithrain
 player, 77 posts
 Wizard
 Brother to Elstarir
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 14:29
Re: Out of Character Chat
Ahh thanks. I think that must have been posted/covered while you were all in PM mode and I wasn't :D

Am I right in saying that if two combatants have the same total (eg 15) then it will always and forever be a stand-off. There's absolutely no point in carrying on a fight if you have the same, because it will always be the same. Is that right?
Tarrian
 player, 37 posts
 Adventurer
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 14:56
Re: Out of Character Chat
No, it just means neither of you hurt the other in that round. In the next round you roll again.

So Largo beat Tarrian in round 1, but she might gain the upper hand in round 2. We start all over again, except Tarrian starts with less STAMINA.
Mannath
 player, 52 posts
 Rogue
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 17:10
Re: Out of Character Chat
Okay, now that Tarrian has piled in I need to check something:

- if I now attack and lose then I don't lose any STA as he has already wounded Tarrian, so doesn't get a 2nd bonus attack. Is this correct?
- do I need to modify his SKILL score as he is fighting multiple opponents?
- my dagger is designed for close range combat and is a stabbing weapon. Can I use it without penalty rather than using my puny fists?
The Gamesmaster
 GM, 97 posts
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 17:23
Re: Out of Character Chat
Mannath:
Okay, now that Tarrian has piled in I need to check something:

- if I now attack and lose then I don't lose any STA as he has already wounded Tarrian, so doesn't get a 2nd bonus attack. Is this correct?


Yes.

quote:
- do I need to modify his SKILL score as he is fighting multiple opponents?


No.

quote:
- my dagger is designed for close range combat and is a stabbing weapon. Can I use it without penalty rather than using my puny fists?


The adventure as published doesn't give that option and to be honest I can see why (aside from balance arguements). If the square is so jampacked you can't draw a weapon safely you'd have to very careful with that dagger to avoid hitting Tarrian while she is fighting Largo and probably Elstarir if he is fighting too.

You can do it but if you miss I'll be having you Test for Luck to see if that blade hits someone.
Mannath
 player, 53 posts
 Rogue
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 18:04
Re: Out of Character Chat
Chadda, you need to roll for the bad guy as well...

This message was last edited by the player at 18:05, Wed 20 Feb 2013.

The Handmaiden
 player, 15 posts
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 18:22
Re: Out of Character Chat
I don't think so: the bad guy rolls once per turn (this time Tarrian rolled for him?) and we all roll against that... at least, that's what I understood...
The Gamesmaster
 GM, 98 posts
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 20:22
Re: Out of Character Chat
Okay there seems to be some confusion over the combat rules.

To begin with only the person the NPC is directly fighting rolls their Attack Strength. In this case that would Tarrian so you use the number she rolled for Largo.

Handmaiden: Remember your Attack Strength = 2d6 + SKILL + appropriate weapon skill. In this particular case you aren't using a weapon so don't add a weapon skill and you are unarmed facing a foe with a weapon so deduct -4 from your Attack Strength.

Elstarir: You forgot to deduct -4 from your Attack Strength for being unarmed.
The Handmaiden
 player, 16 posts
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 20:25
Re: Out of Character Chat
The Gamesmaster:
Handmaiden: Remember your Attack Strength = 2d6 + SKILL + appropriate weapon skill. In this particular case you aren't using a weapon so don't add a weapon skill and you are unarmed facing a foe with a weapon so deduct -4 from your Attack Strength.


In order to avoid making mistakes, I'd prefer just rolling the 2d6 and let you make the adjustments and calculate the outcomes. Is it OK with you?
Elstarir
 player, 61 posts
 Archer
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 21:10
Re: Out of Character Chat
Damn missed that one GM altered my post so Elstarir takes the dmage instead
The Handmaiden
 player, 17 posts
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 21:12
Re: Out of Character Chat
I don't think so: Largo can't cause damage to everybody at the same time...
Vithrain
 player, 78 posts
 Wizard
 Brother to Elstarir
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 21:47
Re: Out of Character Chat
and this is supposed to be simple....lol :}
Mannath
 player, 55 posts
 Rogue
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 22:02
Re: Out of Character Chat
In reply to The Handmaiden (msg # 197):

Correct. Largo is fighting Tarrian this turn so she is the only one who can take damage from him, as she did. We others can attack him but if we lose he doesn't wound us, just simply we don't wound him.

Next turn he might choose to attack someone else, I guess GM will decide...

Clear as mud!?
The Gamesmaster
 GM, 99 posts
Wed 20 Feb 2013
at 22:59
Re: Out of Character Chat
But it is simple... I'm a bit surprised this is causing everyone so much trouble. :(

After this fight I'll see about changing how we work combats.
Elstarir
 player, 62 posts
 Archer
Thu 21 Feb 2013
at 05:43
Re: Out of Character Chat
Apologies for the cock up I'll re read the rules today as punishment
Mannath
 player, 56 posts
 Rogue
Thu 21 Feb 2013
at 07:27
Re: Out of Character Chat
In reply to The Gamesmaster (msg # 200):

Lol! I agree. The combat system is very simple, as long as you read the combat rules! :)