OOC Thread #10: Commandments.   Posted by The Raconteur.Group: 0
Kellan Storval
 Human Fighter, 1433 posts
 Miniboss
Tue 17 Apr 2018
at 18:18
Re: Possible Restart
11:18, Today: Kellan Storval rolled 10 using 1d20+2.  Initiative.
Liseth Thoradin
 Human Oracle, 2966 posts
 Deluge of Positive Energy
 HP 42/42
Tue 17 Apr 2018
at 21:17
Re: Possible Restart
This feels unlikely to end well...

14:16, Today: Liseth Thoradin rolled 13 using 1d20+1.  Initiative.
Cato Crispin
 Human Wizard, 1510 posts
 Quarterstaff Expert
Wed 18 Apr 2018
at 00:12
Re: Possible Restart
Yeah, in hindsight, making threatening actions with the door open maybe not the best idea.  Unless this "guardsman" is part of the same troupe acting out the farce in front of us.

20:08, Today: Cato Crispin rolled 19 using 1d20+6.  Initiative.
The Raconteur
 GM, 2990 posts
 Teller of Tales
 Writer of Wrongs
Wed 18 Apr 2018
at 01:58
Re: Possible Restart
Cato, your haste spell takes effect after the Foxgloves' actions.

This message was last edited by the GM at 01:58, Wed 18 Apr 2018.

Pisca Neep Freemish
 Gnome Archaeologist, 3484 posts
 The Gnome!
 And Her Imagination
Wed 18 Apr 2018
at 07:40
Re: Possible Restart
I show Pisca having 38 Hit Points.  If she's taken 38 Hit Points that would put her at Zero, wouldn't it?  And at Zero, isn't she Disabled? https://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamem...isabled-0-Hit-Points-

quote:
Disabled (0 Hit Points)
When your current hit point total drops to exactly 0, you are disabled.

You gain the staggered condition and can only take a single move or standard action each turn (but not both, nor can you take full-round actions). You can take move actions without further injuring yourself, but if you perform any standard action (or any other strenuous action) you take 1 point of damage after completing the act. Unless your activity increased your hit points, you are now at –1 hit points and dying.

Healing that raises your hit points above 0 makes you fully functional again, just as if you’d never been reduced to 0 or fewer hit points.

You can also become disabled when recovering from dying. In this case, it’s a step toward recovery, and you can have fewer than 0 hit points (see Stable Characters and Recovery).


That is, as opposed to into Negative Hit Points and Dying.

quote:
Dying (Negative Hit Points)
If your hit point total is negative, but not equal to or greater than your Constitution score, you’re dying.

A dying character immediately falls unconscious and can take no actions.

A dying character loses 1 hit point every round. This continues until the character dies or becomes stable.


Or have I figured something incorrectly here?
Liseth Thoradin
 Human Oracle, 2967 posts
 Deluge of Positive Energy
 HP 42/42
Wed 18 Apr 2018
at 07:58
Re: Possible Restart
Disabled is such an uncommon condition; it's easily overlooked.

Also, I thought Pisca had 42 HP?  Didn't she have the same as Liseth?
Pisca Neep Freemish
 Gnome Archaeologist, 3485 posts
 The Gnome!
 And Her Imagination
Wed 18 Apr 2018
at 11:48
Re: Possible Restart
Must have diverged at some point.  CS says 38.
Hand of Fate
 GM, 50 posts
Wed 18 Apr 2018
at 12:30
Re: Possible Restart
TPK!  TPK!

Oh... wait.

Go team Pisca!
The Raconteur
 GM, 2991 posts
 Teller of Tales
 Writer of Wrongs
Wed 18 Apr 2018
at 16:58
Re: Possible Restart
Well, it looks as if I indeed messed up the 0 HP thing.  Should have looked it up.  I'll rewrite the post, I guess.
Pisca Neep Freemish
 Gnome Archaeologist, 3486 posts
 The Gnome!
 And Her Imagination
Wed 18 Apr 2018
at 17:34
Re: Possible Restart
In reply to The Raconteur (msg # 300):

FWIW, I don't think a whole lot is going to change.  I don't think the door gets closed.  That's probably the biggest thing.
The Raconteur
 GM, 2992 posts
 Teller of Tales
 Writer of Wrongs
Wed 18 Apr 2018
at 17:48
Re: Possible Restart
Post updated.
Pisca Neep Freemish
 Gnome Archaeologist, 3488 posts
 The Gnome!
 And Her Imagination
Wed 18 Apr 2018
at 19:12
Re: Possible Restart
Like I said, not a whole lot is changed.
Cato Crispin
 Human Wizard, 1512 posts
 Quarterstaff Expert
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 01:11
Re: Possible Restart
So, is my action right now just casting Haste?
Kellan Storval
 Human Fighter, 1434 posts
 Miniboss
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 01:25
Re: Possible Restart
Well if we were at a table...this is when I would be looking around and wondering if  we should continue.

We are obviously into something, between Kerr's detext evil and Iesha turning out to be an expert killer...but Pisca sis just get downed in one round.

Granted they were very lucky rolls...
The Raconteur
 GM, 2993 posts
 Teller of Tales
 Writer of Wrongs
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 01:47
Re: Possible Restart
They were pretty lucky rolls!  And remember Pisca was flanked, so they got a combat bonus as well as any sneak-attack damage to which they might be entitled.

And yes, Cato, you've cast Haste this round, so Kellan and Liseth you are both under its influence.
The Raconteur
 GM, 2994 posts
 Teller of Tales
 Writer of Wrongs
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 01:48
Re: Possible Restart
Kellan Storval:
Granted they were very lucky rolls...


I'm still befuddled by my ability to roll criticals on this system.  Hopefully Kerr will get one as well!
Pisca Neep Freemish
 Gnome Archaeologist, 3489 posts
 The Gnome!
 And Her Imagination
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 01:50
Re: Possible Restart
They're not illusions.  We've determined that much.  Alternatives are disguise and shape changing.  If we're talking disguise, then we have CHA in play.  But, I'm wondering whether the CHA is placed where it can compete with us.  That is to say, in diplomacy.

Liseth is the diplomacy queen.  If she can convince the city guard, we may have an ally that could tip the balance in this.  Either way, it may be an interesting competition, trying to sway the guard to one side or the other through reason and/or charm.
Kellan Storval
 Human Fighter, 1436 posts
 Miniboss
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 02:21
Re: Possible Restart
True, and with no detectable magic, in a dress, here's hoping her armor class is not that high...
Liseth Thoradin
 Human Oracle, 2969 posts
 Deluge of Positive Energy
 HP 42/42
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 08:02
Re: Possible Restart
I couldn't decide how to do this action, so I went with making placating the guardsmen a full-time action for myself.  I was hung on the fact that diplomacy typically takes a minute or more, but 10 combat rounds might be a little silly in the situation.

I'm not even sure how Racon wants to handle the attempt, so I didn't roll anything yet.  My Diplomacy skill is +16 though.
The Raconteur
 GM, 2995 posts
 Teller of Tales
 Writer of Wrongs
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 16:34
Re: Possible Restart
Liseth Thoradin:
I'm not even sure how Racon wants to handle the attempt, so I didn't roll anything yet.  My Diplomacy skill is +16 though.


Racon isn't sure how he wants to handle this either!  :)  Does anyone have any leads on Pathfinder rules regarding trying to persuade a confused person during combat?  Otherwise I suppose I'll have to make up some rules.  But surely this can't be the first time that something like this has happened.
Pisca Neep Freemish
 Gnome Archaeologist, 3490 posts
 The Gnome!
 And Her Imagination
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 17:20
Re: Possible Restart
From reading various Google links I get the impression that most folks want to use Diplomacy to convince the people that they are currently fighting to stop.  That, of course, is not what we have here.  But, my impression is that the difference is only one of Attitude.  That is to say, if you're fighting someone, their attitude is likely to be Hostile.  In this case, it may be Indifferent.

As the thread below suggests, to rush a diplomacy attempt involves penalties.  Unfortunately, Paizo is not clear about what those penalties are.  The thread suggests -20 as a holdover from 3.5, but I think that in Pathfinder that's left pretty much up to a GM decision.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2mm0y?Diplomacy-in-combat
Cato Crispin
 Human Wizard, 1513 posts
 Quarterstaff Expert
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 19:00
Re: Possible Restart
It seems like this falls under "Making a Request" which can be accomplished in 1 round, especially for a relatively simple request versus the "Influence Attitude" which takes 1 minute.

Given that, you can determine the DC, but the guard is probably indifferent or unfriendly, which is a base DC of 15 or 20, then it might even fall under "Give Aid that could result in punishment" because if he lets a bunch of strangers murder a lord, I could see him getting punished.  So that pushes the DC to 30-35 depending on his initial attitude.
The Raconteur
 GM, 2996 posts
 Teller of Tales
 Writer of Wrongs
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 21:51
Re: Possible Restart
This is a little different than making a request, though.  Liseth actually needs to convince the guardsman that she's on the right side; he's not going to help her if he thinks she's on the wrong side, and right now he's (rightfully) highly skeptical.

So what I've done is create a chart of the guard's attitudes and reactions:

BELIEVER - Actively assists in combat

SEMI-CONVINCED - Will defend attacked party members

NEUTRAL - will defend himself.

SKEPTIC - will attack party members who attack the Foxgloves.

ENEMY - Actively assists the Foxgloves

Right now he is at "skeptic."  Where he ends up depends on how Liseth does on her diplomacy roll.  The DCs are for my eyes only.  :)  Roll away, Liseth!
Hand of Fate
 GM, 51 posts
Thu 19 Apr 2018
at 22:33
Re: Possible Restart
Y'all is gonna kill ya a Magnimar city guard. That there ain't neighborly.
Cato Crispin
 Human Wizard, 1514 posts
 Quarterstaff Expert
Fri 20 Apr 2018
at 00:35
Re: Possible Restart
Or we're going to kill someone disguised as a Magnimar City Guard.