OOC.   Posted by Dungeon Master.Group: 0
GrizzlyBear91
 player, 5 posts
 HP 54/54
Fri 13 May 2016
at 02:49
OOC
I think I'm done, aside from the javelin question. What would it take to make my own silver weapons? I took smithing, not sure if that works or not.
Dungeon Master
 GM, 13 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Fri 13 May 2016
at 12:37
OOC
For the silvered weapons, the 100 gp covers the cost of the silver and the time and expertise needed to add silver to the weapon without making it less effective.  You can silver a single melee weapon or ten pieces of ammunition for 100 gp.  So, silver arrows would be about 10 gp each.

For the thrown attacks, as long as you could logically carry multiple thrown weapons, you can throw them as part of your two weapon fighting style.

For the number of attacks you get per turn:
  • Fighter Feature:  Fighting Style:  Two-Weapon Fighting:  When you engage in two-weapon fighting, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the second attack.
  • Fighter feature:  Extra Attack:  Beginning at fifth level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.
  • Feat:  Dual Wielder:  You master fighting with two weapons, gaining the following benefits:
    • You gain a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand.
    • You can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren't light.
    • You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw and stow only one.
  • Basic rules for Two-Weapon Fighting:  When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand.  You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is a negative.
    If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it.

On your turn, you can move up to your distance in speed and take one action and one bonus action.

So, with all your features, your default attack action gives you two strikes.  Then, you can use a bonus action to get a third strike as long as you're fighting with one-handed weapons.  If you're using thrown, one-handed weapons, any of these strikes can be ranged attacks, but you can only draw two weapons at once, so probably the only the second and/or third strike would be ranged, otherwise you run out of weapons to attack with.

A note on your bonus actions:  Your fighter features give you multiple ways to use your bonus action, but you still only get one bonus action per turn.  So you have to choose how to use it each turn.

Also, your Fighter Action Surge feature lets you get in an extra action once per long rest, which could effectively give you 5 strikes on one turn, but only once in a combat.  Then you'd have to rest before you could get the extra action again.

Your Parry and Riposte Maneuvers also give you ways to use your Reaction a the end of another character's turn, but you only get one reaction per round, so you have to choose which maneuver to use it for.

I think that covers everything.  Let me know if you have any questions.
GrizzlyBear91
 player, 6 posts
 HP 54/54
Fri 13 May 2016
at 20:22
OOC
Yeah, that's basically it for combat other than maybe about damage for ranged weapons. I know in 3.5 you have to use a composite bow or have a feat to get your strength bonus for bows and thrown weapons, respectively. Is it different in 5th edition? I haven't seen anything that says one way or the other.

Also I would probably be interested in purchasing that magical quiver if you could give me some more info on it, please. After that it's all just story details from there.
Dungeon Master
 GM, 14 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Mon 16 May 2016
at 14:55
OOC
entry from DM's Guide:
Quiver of Ehlonna
Wondrous item, uncommon

Each of the quiver's three compartments connects to an extradimensional space that allows the quiver to hold numerous items while never weighing more than 2 pounds.  The shortest compartment can hold up to sixty arrows, bolts or similar objects.  The midsize compartment holds up to 18 javelins or similar objects.  The longest compartment holds up to six long objects, such as bows, quarterstaffs, or spears.

You can draw any item the quiver holds as if doing so from a regular quiver or scabbard.


If a weapon has the "Thrown" property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack.  If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would use for a melee attack with that weapon.  For example, if you throw a handaxe, you use your STR, but if you throw a dagger, you can use either your STR or your DEX, since the dagger has the finesse property.

So far, I haven't seen any stats for composite bows,so I think all the bow-type weapons use DEX.
Dungeon Master
 GM, 15 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Mon 16 May 2016
at 15:03
OOC
Now, tell me about Cyrus' life up to this point.  Who was his beloved?  Who was the murderer?  What monstrosities did he commit while getting his vengeance?

Do you want to start out with an NPC ally who gets sucked into the mists with you?  or do plan to pick up ally's from among the locals of Ravenloft as you go?

What are your thoughts on these?
GrizzlyBear91
 player, 7 posts
 HP 54/54
Mon 16 May 2016
at 20:39
OOC
Cyrus was married to a young woman, and all but settled into a normal life before a necromancer raised all the dead bodies in the nearby cemetery. The zombies and skeletons wreaked havoc on the town, slaughtering all the innocents while he was away. He tracked down the horde and slowly began destroying them all, using civilians as bait more than a couple of times. One time was particularly devastating; a young girl, no more than 10, was being chased by a zombie while Cyrus waited nearby. Had the girl not tripped, he would have been able to save her, but the zombie was on her prone form before he could get to her. He entered the mists while still searching for his vengeance, having followed the necromancer into them.


As far as the NPCs go, I'm fine with just finding then r in Ravenloft somewhere. That will allow for more flavor (and possible suspense as to whether or not they'll double cross me).
Dungeon Master
 GM, 16 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Mon 16 May 2016
at 21:24
OOC
All right, sounds good.  Let's get this started then.  New thread coming up.
Dungeon Master
 GM, 18 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Mon 16 May 2016
at 21:50
OOC
And I changed your name to Cyrus Blackwood.
Dungeon Master
 GM, 20 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Wed 18 May 2016
at 15:05
OOC
How do you want to handle dice in this game?  Rely on them just as we would for a tabletop game, with combat beginning with initiative, followed by attack and damage rolls each round?  Or run things more prose-style, where we rely on passive abilities more often than not.  Do you like rolling all your own dice and checks, or do you prefer I roll your dice for reactionary checks to expedite things?

For your current scene with the Necromancer, a tabletop dice style game would mean we both roll initiative now, then proceed round by round with attacks and actions.

A prose-style combat for this scene would mean I make a judgement call about who acts first (in this case, I'd let you act first, since the fog was harder on him than it was on you).  Then I'd compare his AC to your passive attack and let you know OOC-ly whether you'll hit or miss most of the time and you can use that information to narrate your actions without making dice rolls, while I do some rolling behind the scenes and describe the outcomes in my posts.

So, dice-and-numbers or prose-and-proxy rolling?  I lean toward dice-and-numbers, myself, but since this is a solo campaign, I want to make sure you're getting a play-style you'll enjoy.
Cyrus Blackwood
 player, 9 posts
 HP 54/54
Wed 18 May 2016
at 15:50
OOC
I prefer to roll dice, too, so that's how I'd like the game to be. When I roll, would you prefer I post the results at the end, or simply put the numbers in parentheses after whatever action I take?
Dungeon Master
 GM, 21 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Wed 18 May 2016
at 16:05
OOC
Post the results at the end, please, by copy-pasting the rolls you made and putting them in OOC orange color.  After initiatives are rolled, I'll post the start of Combat Round 1, initiative order and the enemy's AC and HP so you can quickly see if your attack hits and wounds or kills your opponent, and include appropriate flavor text.  Every so often, we might have to go back and edit due to reactions, but mostly it keeps things moving smoothly.

Here's an example of what I'll put at the bottom of my posts during combat from another game I'm running.  You don't need to worry about posting any of the information in gray, just post your rolls and basic combat actions in orange.

quote:
Combat Round 5
Cultist: DEAD. (Amon's killing blow)
Cultist:  AC 12.  HP 5/9.  (Engaged in combat with Amon.  4 dam from Rugadh's dissonant whispers.)
Cultist:  DEAD. (Arkros' killing blow)
Ambush Drake:  DEAD. (Amon's killing blow)

(3 more cultists will join this combat next round.)


15:55, Today: Dungeon Master rolled 3 using 2d4 with rolls of 1,2.  How many cultists come to the entrance to stop your escape?
15:50, Today: Dungeon Master rolled 10 using 1d20+3 with rolls of 7.  Cultist attack on Amon (second roll with Rugadh's disadvantage).
15:49, Today: Dungeon Master rolled 22 using 1d20+3 with rolls of 19.  Cultist attack on Amon.
15:44, Today: Dungeon Master rolled 4 using 1d4 with rolls of 4.  damage on cultist from Rugadh's dissonant whispers.
15:43, Today: Dungeon Master rolled 2 using 1d20 with rolls of 2.  Cultist's WIS save vs Rugadh's dissonant whispers.

Dungeon Master
 GM, 23 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Tue 24 May 2016
at 16:08
OOC
Sorry for the silence.  We're transitioning from school day to summer days and it's throwing off all the routines.  Should be more regular posting once things settle down again in June.
Cyrus Blackwood
 player, 12 posts
 HP 54/54
Tue 24 May 2016
at 18:20
OOC
That's quite alright; I usually give a month before I start to wonder if something's wrong. So unless you plan on taking a sabbatical for that long, without telling me of course, I'll assume you're alright.

Does a melee touch attack for a spell count as a trigger for a Parry?
Dungeon Master
 GM, 25 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Tue 24 May 2016
at 18:49
OOC
Yes, yes it does.  However, since magic is involved, it's not just a simple case of moving your weapon into the path of your opponent's weapon to make the strike less harmful.  The description of your parry will require a bit more creative justification, but the mechanics are the same.  You reduce the damage of his attack on you, without causing any damage to him.

Maybe Cyrus cut through some of the shadowy tendrils, or broke the necromancer's grip for a few a moments so that he didn't get the full effect of the spell.  You can include a description of your choice in your post, or leave it to me to describe it.
Cyrus Blackwood
 player, 14 posts
 HP 54/54
Wed 25 May 2016
at 02:31
OOC
I can't see anything that says either way, so I'll ask; does using a maneuver affect all of my attacks for the turn, or just one?
Dungeon Master
 GM, 27 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Wed 25 May 2016
at 02:45
OOC
I think it depends on the maneuver.  Which one are you thinking of?
Dungeon Master
 GM, 28 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Wed 25 May 2016
at 03:21
OOC
*Let me just put my rules-lawyer cap on...*

I'm going out on a limb to guess your asking about Precision Attack?  For that one, it references making a melee attack roll against a creature.  All the language it uses seems to me to reference one, singular attack roll (or just one strike during an attack action).

Now that I'm looking through them all, it looks as though each maneuver can only be used to enhance a single attack roll.  Under the Combat Superiority feature, it says, "Many maneuvers enhance an attack in some way.  You can only use one maneuver per attack."

On page 192, when it describes Actions in Combat and the Attack action it says, "With this action you make one melee or ranged attack...Certain features, such as the Extra Action feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action."

So, the way I see it, when Cyrus declares that he's performing an attack action, he gets a minimum of two attack rolls, and he can use his bonus action to gain a third attack roll.  I think the maneuvers are meant to be used in conjunction with individual attack rolls.  So, you can only use one maneuver per attack roll, and each maneuver only affects one attack roll (no matter how many attack rolls you get during an attack action).  But, this also means that as long as you have superiority dice to spend, you can use a separate maneuver for each attack roll you make during an attack action, or use the same maneuver for each separate attack roll you make during your attack action.

So, Cyrus CAN use Precision Attack on each of his attack rolls, as long as he has enough superiority dice to spend one for each roll he makes.

*Setting my rules-lawyer cap back down.*


Hope that wasn't too much.  Does it answer your question?
Cyrus Blackwood
 player, 15 posts
 HP 54/54
Wed 25 May 2016
at 03:29
OOC
Yes, but technically I can't use more than one per attack because it says you can only use one maneuver per turn. But I get it now. I'm used to playing a Warblade from 3.5 where their "maneuvers" are attacks, not just bonuses.
Dungeon Master
 GM, 29 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Wed 25 May 2016
at 03:39
OOC
It says you can only use maneuver per "attack," not per turn, unless you've found a reference I've missed.

quote:
I'm used to playing a Warblade from 3.5 where their "maneuvers" are attacks, not just bonuses.


Ah, yeah, I see where you're coming from.  5th edition doesn't seem to give out bonuses as much as 3.5 did; they use advantage/disadvantage for that instead, so it's harder to stack up the bonuses for epic results that hardly need to be rolled.  Then, 5e grants the maneuvers to give the fighters a way to get extra bonuses to add to their attack and damage rolls, instead of just gaining advantage on those rolls, but it still makes it hard to stack up the bonuses by limiting it to one per attack.
Dungeon Master
 GM, 30 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Mon 6 Jun 2016
at 18:26
OOC
It's the summer of change!  We're getting ready to move to a new house, so I'm taking a sabbatical from rPol until after we're settled into the new place.  I'm estimating it will take a month or two.  If you're willing to wait it out, I'll return to rPol when the dust has settled.

Happy gaming!
Cyrus Blackwood
 player, 17 posts
 HP 54/54
Mon 6 Jun 2016
at 20:26
OOC
I'll still be here more than likely. Take whatever time you need; I just moved into my house last October and it took me awhile to get back to my usual haunts.
Dungeon Master
 GM, 31 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Mon 27 Jun 2016
at 16:54
OOC
Okay!  I think I'm getting a handle on the home front.  I'm planning to return to rPol after the Fourth of July holiday.

The plan is that we can start up again on Tuesday, July 5, and proceed with the game from there.  If you have any OOC concerns or need a refresher on things, I'll be available off and on between now and then to answer questions and figure things out.

Looking forward to gaming with you again!  :)
Cyrus Blackwood
 player, 18 posts
 HP 54/54
Mon 27 Jun 2016
at 18:35
OOC
No, I think I'm good. Thanks for the heads up!
Dungeon Master
 GM, 32 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Thu 7 Jul 2016
at 19:34
OOC
I'm back!  Working on my IC post now.  Thank you for being patient.

This message was last edited by the GM at 19:49, Thu 07 July 2016.

Dungeon Master
 GM, 36 posts
 Rule #1: The DM
 is always right.
Thu 28 Jul 2016
at 21:22
OOC
Things just never really settle down, do they?

Now that we have our new home and the kids are going to be attending all-day school, we've decided it's time for me to get a full-time job, as well.  It's exciting and scary and all that, but mostly it means I won't be able to participate in rPol games, any more.  I'm saying good bye to all my on-line games.

I'm sorry our Ravenloft game didn't amount to much, in the end.  I had high hopes when I started it for you, but then... life, the universe, and everything ...happened.

Hope you find many other fun games to play in.  Best of luck to you.