House Rules.   Posted by Archival.Group: 0
Archival
 GM, 100 posts
 I RUN THIS BITCH
Thu 14 Jul 2016
at 22:21
House Rules
In this topic, I'll be posting any house rules, custom channels, etc. for Children of the Rain.
Archival
 GM, 101 posts
 I RUN THIS BITCH
Thu 14 Jul 2016
at 22:55
House Rules
Swimming

Since Leviathan is a very aquatic game at its core and swimming is noticeably missing from World of Darkness rules, the following rules will be used. Based on the rules originally posted here with some reworking.

Swimming
Generally, swimming is an instant action that consumes most of you time. Aquatic creatures, however, treat swimming as a reflexive action, and suffer no penalties when prefroming other actions. Swimmers are broken down into three groups:
Aquatic creatures with an inborn ability to swim, and includes all fish and aquatic animals. This also includes otters, alligators, and other creatures that swim.
Swimmers are most other creatures that can swim, almost naturally; getting in the water isn't a death sentence and they can remain afloat for a while. Dogs, horses, hippos (most animals) and humans with the swim specialty or Athletics 2+ fall into this group.
Non-swimmers are creatures who can't swim naturally: humans, and those creatures who are either too dense to float or otherwise bound for the bottom if they fall over board.

Aquatic creatures move through the water at their full Speed. Some species, like sloth, may have a bonus to their Speed while swimming. Swimmers move at their Speed minus their species factor. Any successes on a Strength + Athletics (swimming) roll adds to their Speed for that turn, to a maximum of their species factor. Non-swimmers have a speed equal to their Strength + Athletics roll.

Swimmers and non-swimmers must preform a swim check every turn to stay above water or move. A failure means they flounder in place and start to sink, and critical failures result in drowning.

Preforming other actions
Most actions are harder when done in water. When attempting anything underwater, the Swimmers and Non-swimmers suffer a -2 to their dice pools and Defense.
Swimming is an instant action, so normally Swimmers and Non-swimmers can't take other actions.

Treading water, however, is a reflexive action that Swimmers can do automatically without penalty. Non-swimmers suffer a -2 to their Strength + Athletics dice pool to tread water.

Should grappling occur in water, one combatant can force the other to take the brunt of treading water. Should one of the fighters choose not to tread water (or fails their check) the other person suffers another -2 to their dice pool to tread water.

Example: Bryan and Anne fell into the water with a man-eating shark. The shark is aquatic, and moves at its full speed (13), and may attack at its full dice pools. Anne is a swimmer (she has Strength 2, Dexterity 3, and athletics [swimming] 3). She can swim at her swim speed (5), and suffers a -2 to all action in water that's not swimming. Bryan is a non-swimmer (Strength 3, Dexterity 2, and Athletics [baseball] 1). He also suffers a -2 to all actions underwater.

Anne and Bryan are rather screwed at this point. If they don't try to swim, they will sink. The shark keeps its full defense against their attacks, and suffers no penalties. The humans suffer a -2 to their Defense, and should they try to fight they will suffer a -2 to their dice pools.


Swimming and Leviathans

Since Leviathans automatically receive an Atheltics (Swimming) specialty upon creation, Leviathans are always at least Swimmers.

Leviathans at Depth 2 or below add their species factor to swimming movement as if they were Aquatic. They do not, however, count as Aquatic for any other purposes. They must still make a swimming check (Strength+Athletics) to move each turn as normal, and suffer the same penalties to their Defense and to actions performed in the water.

Leviathans at Depth 6 are always considered Aquatic.

For Hybrids, the first dot of the Child of the Waves mutation grants them all the benefits of being a Swimmer if they were not already. They may also take a 5 dot version of the mutation which makes them Aquatic, restricted to those at Depth 2 or lower.

Changes made to the Uncrowned Fisher King channel to reflect these rules are detailed below.
Archival
 GM, 102 posts
 I RUN THIS BITCH
Fri 15 Jul 2016
at 01:09
House Rules
Channels

Modified:
Uncrowned Fisher King

  • “Depth 0”: Birthright of Elements
  • “Depth 1”: The Leviathan gains 9again for all swimming rolls.
  • “Depth 2”: As above, but the Leviathan now counts as Aquatic and gains 9again for any Survival rolls while in a natural body of water at least the size of a lake or river.
  • “Depth 3”: As above but the Leviathan adds +2 to their speed while swimming and gains 8again on applicable Survival rolls.
  • “Depth 4”: As above, but the Leviathan gains the ability to produce a form of “whale song”. They can communicate for Strength + Sheol x 10 miles but the sound will not break the surface of the water. Anyone who hears the Leviathan's call is instantly aware that it came from an unnatural creature. A Leviathans whale song actually contains their usual language, they gain no automatic ability to communicate with Leviathans who don't share a language and with effort it can be electronically decoded.
  • “Depth 5”: As above, but the Leviathan instead adds her Sheol to her swim speed.
  • “Depth 6”: The Leviathan can cross oceans and circumvent the globe. Her maximum speed becomes 75 miles per hour per Sheol and her acceleration is equal to her Speed. Note: To covert from Speed to miles per hour divide by 1.46, to convert from miles per hour to Speed multiply by 1.46


New: One Thousand Mighty Blows - Vestige of Might

One Thousand Mighty Blows is a Finesse Attribute boosting Channel. It benefits Dexterity and has the following unique powers:
  • “Depth 0”: Birthright of Might
  • “Depth 1”: The Leviathan grows a second pair of arms, tentacles or other type of limb capable of grasping. However, these arms are small and under-developed and not good for much beyond simple multi-tasking. The Leviathan may make one additional attack per turn using its extra arms, but both hands are considered to have Strength 1 for all purposes and may not hold anything greater than Size 1. If the Leviathan normally has Strength 1, attacks with its tiny t-rex arms suffer a -2 penalty and may not hold anything at all. If the Leviathan already attacked a target that turn, or attacks again, both attacks must be against the same target.
  • “Depth 4”:  The Leviathan's extra limbs become stronger and more dextrous. The Leviathan may make two attacks in one turn. If the Leviathan possesses any of the Merits listed below, they may instead make one attack with each weapon they are holding (up to four). However, none of these Merits may be stacked with One Thousand Mighty Blows. Each additional attack beyond the first suffers an increasing -1 penalty (the second attacks suffers -1, the third suffers -2, etc.).

    The Leviathan may not use his Defense against any attack in the same turn in which he chooses to use this ability. If he uses his Defense against one or more attacks that occur earlier in the round, he may not he may not perform this manoeuvre this round. The Leviathan may also not use any other abilities that call for him to forfeit his Defense in the same round that he uses this ability.
  • “Depth 6”: As above, but the Leviathan is now able to split its additional attacks between any number of targets. The Leviathan may travel up to its Speed trait to reach additional targets beyond the first.

Note: Possessing any of the following Merits qualifies the Leviathan to make one attack per weapon: Bountiful Blows (Multi-Limbed Combat style), Combination Blows (Brawl attacks only) (Aggressive Striking/Boxing/Muay Thai styles), Gunslinger (Firearms attacks only), Focused Attack (Two Weapons style).

Adaptations
  • Octogod (OOOO): The Leviathan gains a third set of arms. He may make up to three attacks per turn. If he possesses any of the above Merits, he may now make up to six attacks per turn, but still only once per weapon.
  • Unparalleled Finesse (OOOOO, Requires Overpowering Strength of Titans): The Leviathan may now spend 1 Ichor to attack multiple times and use the defensive abilities granted by Overpowering Strength of Titans in the same turn.
  • Defensive Stance (OOO): The Leviathan may choose to forfeit all additional attacks granted by One Thousand Mighty Blows. Instead, his Defense now applies to ranged attacks which he is aware of (it would not apply against an attack from an unseen sniper, for example), and his Defense value no longer decreases until he suffers a number of attacks equalling the greater of his Brawl, Weaponry or Sheol.


Optional Rule: In the case that a player is particularly averse to the idea of having multiple limbs like a giant fucking weenie, they may instead choose to benefit from the following optional set of rules:

At Depth 1, the character gains the ability to make a second, quick swipe with a melee weapon smaller than size 1. When rolling this attack, treat the Leviathan as though they had 1 Strength. If they regularly have 1 Strength, the roll suffers a -2 penalty.

At Depths 4-6, the Leviathan gains the ability to attack twice in one turn with the same weapon. If they possess any merits listed above, they make attack twice per turn per weapon. If the Leviathan takes the Octogod adaptation, increase this to three times per turn. All penalties and restrictions listed above apply as normal.
Archival
 GM, 135 posts
 I RUN THIS BITCH
Sun 7 Aug 2016
at 05:40
House Rules
Cults

Cults are a bit of a finnicky thing on the RP side of Leviathan. Technically, if a Leviathan spends fifteen minutes a day around the same group of people every day, they've got an easy ticket to tons of Beloved. Since our game is set in a school, this is an obvious possibility, but it could also happen in any number of occupations.

At the same time, each Leviathan has a crunch 'limit' on the number of cultists they can acquire, based on the Cult Numbers merit. While this is practical from a game stand-point, it makes little sense in-character for a Leviathan to suddenly stop gaining cultists once they reach 5, 10, 20, 50 or 100. What exactly happens at that point? Do the Beloved just throw the brochure away when invited to the cult?

To make this more RP-friendly, the Cult Numbers merit will be treated with a bit more flexibility.

For every 5 Beloved/cultists a Leviathan has over their Cult Numbers 'limit', their Zeal is temporarily reduced by 1 until they return to their limit. This can be achieved by either 'removing' Beloved somehow, or simply buying sufficient dots in Cult Numbers. Due note that while this can reduce your Zeal to a negative value for the purposes of rolls (including giving enemies an opposite, positive modifier to convert your cultists to their cause), you will always gain at least 1 Ichor per day simply through being worshipped.

Expanded Cults

The Cult merit has a tendency to ramp up its xp cost very, very quickly. With a couple dots in Numbers, Zeal and a dot in Fervor, you've already spent 30 experience points. On average, that's a month's worth of saving just for an average cult.

To remedy this, the Cult merit is being split into four entirely separate merits: Cult Numbers, Cult Zeal, Cult Fervor and Cult Traits. While the first three are self-explanatory, the fourth covers anything listed under Additional Traits such as Home Turf, Offerings and Resolute.

Do note that you still must have at least one dot of Numbers before purchasing any other Cult merit.

Really Expanded Cults

But that's not all, folks! Cult Numbers and Cult Zeal are getting an upgrade! These two merits can now be bought up to ten dots. However, a Leviathan's maximum number of dots is restricted by their Sheol in the exact same way as any other Stat. To buy the sixth dot of either merit, a Leviathan must have six Sheol, seven to buy the seventh dot, etc.

However, dots in either of these merits above five work slightly differently than usual.

Numbers
Having more than five dots of Cult Numbers does not increase the number of Tasks they can perform per story. It does, however, drastically increase the amount of followers a Leviathan can have.

Numbers OOOOO O - 150 followers.
Numbers OOOOO OO - 200 followers.
Numbers OOOOO OOO - 500 followers.
Numbers OOOOO OOOO - 1000 followers.
Numbers OOOOO OOOOO - No limit. A Leviathan may have as many followers as they can convert.

Of course, having more followers only makes the Leviathan's cult more obvious. Be wary, little fishes.

Zeal
Having more than five dots of Cult Zeal does not give additional bonus dice to attempts to convince the Cult to undertake a task (but really, at that point, why would you need it?). With six dots in Cult Zeal, a cultist can not be knowingly turned against a Leviathan at all. Dots in Zeal provide bonuses to Rituals and increased Ichor per day as they would normally.

Zeal dots beyond five have little tangible effect in-game, aside from cultists being completely impossible to turn against the Leviathan. In fact, such loyal cultists may even be better behaved and harder to spot than their weaker-minded fellows. Or they could be bugfuck insane, but they're still relatively under-control.

This message was last edited by the GM at 04:33, Fri 23 Sept 2016.

Archival
 GM, 195 posts
 I RUN THIS BITCH
Fri 23 Sep 2016
at 04:58
House Rules
Beloved and (Leviathans Other Than) You

When two cults meet, there's one question players are sure to ask that the 'official' rules have no answer to: How do Leviathans interact with Beloved belonging to other Leviathans? The rules never address even the basics of this issue, or even how Beloved 'ownership' works, so this will take a bit of explaining.

Obviously, a Leviathan who converts a Beloved is its 'owner'. What are you, an idiot? However, there are rules that apply to a Beloved that don't apply to other individuals, and it's important to establish whether 'Beloved' refers to a Leviathan's own Beloved or all Beloved.

Social Effects of Transformation
These penalties never apply to Beloved.
Rather than never applying to any Beloved, these penalties still apply to Beloved other than a Leviathan's own. They still find other Leviathans just as horrifying as any mortal would.

The Wake
When using Intimidation against beings subject to the full effect of the Wake, the Leviathan benefits from rote action. This bonus extends to all Social Skill rolls when the subject is one of the Leviathan's Beloved or for a single roll with the expending of one Ichor per Willpower of the Target.
This one actually seems to account for Beloved belonging to other Leviathans. A Leviathan must still expend a point of Ichor per Willpower of the target to gain rote action on a roll if the target is not their Beloved.

Creating A Beloved
Beloved Points
When a Beloved becomes a Beloved, they cease gaining Beloved points. They can not 'accidentally' be converted by another Leviathan simply by spending time around them.

Cultivating a Beloved
The meat of this post. What happens when a Leviathan wants to convert the Beloved of another Leviathan?

Simple: The exact same thing that would happen otherwise.

With a small caveat.

The converting Leviathan must accumulate a number of successes equal to the Willpower+Sheol of the Beloved's owner. Effectively, this makes it much harder to convert a Beloved that already belongs to another Leviathan. The Beloved however, rolls their own Resolve+Composure as normal.

Should the Beloved win or tie with the Leviathan, they still suffer the same effects as they normally would. Being the rope in a game of tug o' war between two demigods isn't the most comfortable experience for the mind.

Remember: A Beloved belonging to a Leviathan with six or more dots of Cult Zeal is impossible to convert. Any attempt to cultivate such a Beloved automatically fails and the Beloved suffers no ill effects, as if the Beloved's owner had the Indoctrination merit with unlimited uses.

This message was last edited by the GM at 21:25, Fri 23 Sept 2016.

Archival
 GM, 196 posts
 I RUN THIS BITCH
Fri 23 Sep 2016
at 21:07
House Rules
Slumbering and Dreaming

Several times in the 'official' Leviathan rules, it references Dreaming with a capital D and slumbering. However, the rules for exactly what Dreaming is are sparse. The only substantial reference to how a Leviathan Dreams (capital D) is the Dread Return adaptation under The Hydra's Rebirth. According to the adaptation, when a Leviathan with Dread Return dies it goes into a state similar to a Vampire's Torpor. In this state, a Leviathan is considered to be Dreaming.

There are two other adaptations (Spine of the World and One Swamp, One Mind) that state that the Leviathan is 'considered to be Dreaming' while using them, but it never actually explains what that entails. Can the Leviathan act while Dreaming? Presumably not. Are they conscious? How long can they slumber?

Going to Sleep
The first question to answer is: How does a Leviathan Slumber and Dream in the first place? As noted earlier, the concept of Slumbering (now with a capital S) and Dreaming seem very similar to a Vampire's Torpor. In fact, they are very similar. The two systems work along similar lines, with the following differences.

Wounding: Normally, a Vampire enters Torpor when all of their health boxes are full of at least Lethal damage. Under normal circumstances, this is not true of Leviathans. If a Leviathan's health boxes are filled with Lethal damage, they suffer the exact same fate as a normal human - that is, they start to bleed out and may die.

The exception to this is the Dread Return adaptation which has been altered and may be found below.

Starvation and Staking: Obviously, Leviathans don't need to drink blood, nor does anything special happen if someone stabs a wooden stake in his heart. Aside from being stabbed in the heart. That's kind of special.

Voluntary Slumber: Much like a Vampire, a Leviathan may voluntarily Slumber. Sometimes the Leviathan has to lay extra low for a while, they may have run out of things to do for the next decade and want to let their cult run itself, or maybe they just really want to see the future and get a cool robot.

To enter a voluntary Slumber, a number of key points must be true.

  • The Leviathan must be in Depth 6.
  • The Leviathan must have its maximum amount of Ichor.
  • The Leviathan must be in a body of water large enough to be entirely submerged. The Rift counts, but is not ideal for Leviathans who wish to maintain a cult while Slumbering.


Once all these points are true, the Leviathan expends their entire pool of Ichor at once and slips into Slumber.


Slumbering
A Leviathan slumbers for an amount of time dictated by their Sheol amd modified by their Tranquility. Depending on the base time a Leviathan Slumbers, the Leviathan may add or subtract a number of Intervals up to their Tranquility.

SheolBase Slumber TimeIntervals
1One DayDays
2One WeekDays
3One MonthWeeks
4Six MonthsWeeks
5One YearMonths
6Five YearsSix Months
7One DecadeYears
8Five DecadesFive Years
9One CenturyDecades
10One MilleniumCenturies


Example: Jeanne has a Sheol of 5 and a Tranquility of 4. Her base time spent in Slumber is one year, but with her Tranquility, she may add or subtract up to four months from that duration. Thus, Jeanne may slumber for any amount of time between eight and sixteen months.

A Leviathan must choose how long they wish to Slumber before doing so. If a Leviathan has a Channel that allows them to perceive the the outside world while Slumbering, the Leviathan may choose to roll Resolve+Composure to awaken, provided they have Slumbered for the minimum amount of time allowed by their Sheol and Tranquility. If the Leviathan succeeds on this test, they immediately wake up. If they fail, they must wait another Interval before they are allowed to attempt the test again. In later sections, this is referred to as an awakening roll.

Example: Jeanne decides she is going to Slumber for a full year. Jeanne has the Visionary Dreams adaptation and decides she is going to continue interacting with the waking world by possessing one of her Beloved. Ten months into her Slumber, a rival Leviathan begins to encroach on her territory. As it has been longer than eight months, she is entitled to an awakening roll. However, Jeanne fails. She must wait another month before she may attempt the test again.

If the Leviathan can not perceive the outside world while Slumbering, they may not make an awakening roll and Slumber for the amount of time they initially decided on.

While Slumbering, the Leviathan seems very freshly dead to the waking world. They do not breathe and all of their bodily functions cease. If a Leviathan was injured when they entered Slumber, the Leviathan does not heal naturally, but may use the Hydra's Rebirth channel.

Leviathans still gain Ichor while Slumbering, whether through worship or immersion. This is, of course, assuming the Leviathan has a cult and is immersed.

While Slumbering, the rules for maintaining a Cult still apply. However, rather than being in contact with the Leviathan, the majority of the Cult needs only be in the vicinity of the Leviathan's body and know its rough location to worship at least once a week. For example, if a Leviathan slumbers in the middle of a small lake, their Cult may gather on the shore to conduct weekly ceremonies. If the Leviathan slumbers in the middle of the Pacific Ocean on the seabed, chances are their Cult won't know exactly where to conduct worship. Depending on how deep the Leviathan is, even worshipping on the surface directly above might not be enough.

If the Leviathan voluntarily entered Slumber, they will remain in Apotheosis form until they awaken and transform as normal. If the Slumbering Leviathan in Apotheosis form is removed from the water, they lose one Ichor per turn until returned to the water, as per usual. However, rather than losing Tranquility or Health when they run out of Ichor, the Leviathan instead dries up and becomes something like a mummy. The Leviathan is still alive in this state and suffers no further ill effects, but may not leave Slumber until they are returned to water and regain at least one point of Ichor. While mummified in this state, the Leviathan is still considered to be Dreaming.

Dreaming
While a Leviathan Slumbers, they also Dream. Under normal circumstances, this is exactly what it sounds like: The Leviathan dreams (lower case d) just like a normal person, with no supernatural effects. However, a number of Vestiges may be used while the Leviathan is Dreaming and may alter the Leviathan's perceptions while Slumbering.

It should be noted that a Leviathan is also considered to be Dreaming while sleeping normally. However, due to the nature of many Vestiges, Adaptations and Rituals that involve Dreaming, this is generally of little use.

Altered Vestiges and Adaptations

Adaptation - Spine of the World: The Leviathan must be Slumbering to activate this adaptation. When using Spine of the World, the Leviathan may choose Slumber indefinitely (but must still Slumber for the minimum amount of time allowed), however the Leviathan must roll to awaken at all, treated as normal awakening roll. They are still allowed to make this awakening roll if they are unable to perceive the waking world.

If the amount of time the Leviathan Slumbers surpasses the Base Slumber Time of a higher level of Sheol, treat that as their Sheol for the purposes of determining Intervals.

Example: Jeanne has Sheol 5 and activates Spine of the World. If she slumbers for five years or longer, she must now wait six months between rolls to awaken. If she does not awaken for five more years (a decade in total), the interval between rolls increases to a full year.

Adaptation - King Under the Trench: While Dreaming, the Leviathan perceives the outside world through the eyes of any animals within his Wake.

Rewritten Adaptation - Dread Return: If the Leviathan would be killed, he instead immediately enters Slumber. The last level of Aggravated damage does not slay him, and he Slumbers for his maximum amount of time (base time plus maximum intervals). If no damage was healed while Slumbering, the Leviathan dies upon awakening. If the Leviathan's body is destroyed while Slumbering, he dies normally. This adaptation may not be used if the Leviathan would have been killed by electricity.

Adaptation - One Swamp, One Mind: The Leviathan must be Slumbering to use this adaptation.

Rituals

Awake O Sleeper (OO)
In dire circumstances, a cult may need to awaken their god for direct intervention. Or maybe they're just feeling a bit neglected and want some attention.

Sacrifice: A mortal is ritually scarred and thrown in a body of water to drown. The body of water may be anything, from a swimming pool to the ocean, but it must be large enough to submerge the Leviathan entirely. The Leviathan does not have to be nearby or even in that particular body of water for the ritual to work.

Effigy: Something valuable that the Leviathan loves is floated on the water. This may be their favourite meal, a loved one or attractive Beloved that suits their tastes, or even something as simple as a briefcase filled with a million dollars. It must, however, be something that the Leviathan actually wants. If it is a person, they must be alive and unharmed.

Auspicious Portents: Flood Tide and Pluto

Ominous Portents: Ebb Tide and Saturn

Sample acts: Flower petals are scattered across the water's surface. The cult engages in some kind of group activity in the body of water before conducting the ritual. The cultists lead prayer sessions begging their patron for intersession. The cult performs a ritual symbolizing their troubles.

Roll: Sheol+Zeal+Occult

Suggested Modifiers: The Leviathan is dreaming (+1). The Leviathan possesses Eye of the Watchful Deity (+2). The Leviathan has Slumbered longer than their Base Slumber Time (+2) The Leviathan possesses Piercing the Veil of Slumber (+2). The Leviathan's Vice is Sloth (-1). The Leviathan has not Slumbered for at least their Base Slumber Time (-1). The Leviathan does not want to be awakened (-2). The Leviathan did not voluntarily Slumber (-3).

Dramatic Failure: Not only does the Leviathan not awaken, but their Slumber time is reset. The cult may not attempt to rouse the Leviathan for a time equal to the amount of time they have already been Slumbering.

Failure: Nothing happens. The cult may not attempt to rouse the Leviathan for another Interval.

Success: The Leviathan awakens and can sense the exact location that the ritual took place. The cult instinctively know that the ritual has succeeded. Furthermore, the Leviathan may not Slumber again for a number of days equal to their Sheol.

Exceptional Success: As above, but the Leviathan instead dramatically emerges from the body of water where the sacrifice took place. If the Leviathan was not in Apotheosis form, they are transformed with no Ichor cost or side-effects. If the Leviathan Slumbered in a different body of water, they instantly teleport to the ritual site. If they were already present, nothing special occurs.

This message was last edited by the GM at 21:07, Fri 23 Sept 2016.

Archival
 GM, 199 posts
 I RUN THIS BITCH
Mon 26 Sep 2016
at 06:08
House Rules
Minor Houserules

A post for small rulings and adjustments that aren't important enough for their own post.

Leviathans Sensing Leviathans
Under the official rules, there is no mechanism for Leviathans recognizing their kin without the Sight Beyond Sight vestige.

In Children of the Rain, Leviathans are able to feel when they are within the Wake of another Leviathan. They have no special sense of who or where the other Leviathan is. Thus, finding a low Sheol Leviathan by their Wake is relatively easy, while tracking a Leviathan with Sheol 7+ through Wake alone is nearly impossible.

Leviathans and Chemicals in Water
To the average fish, even simple tap water is deadly. The chlorine eats away at their exposed gills and slowly kills them over a few days. A swimming pool will kill a fish within a minute or so. A Leviathan, on the other hand, is a much hardier, much more divine creature. A Leviathan is unaffected by and can breathe any substance that is visibly and predominantly made up of water.

Pool water? A-okay.
Orange juice? Not so much.
Sewer water? Questionable, probably not.

Of course, this is purely on a chemical basis. To survive in boiling water or crushing pressure, a Leviathan would require the Birthright of Vitality. Then they can even breathe orange juice!

Hybrids with gills, on the other hand, have no such protection. Tap water is generally fine for them, but anything as chemically-treated as the average swimming pool is a no-go.