Carakav
 member, 654 posts
 Sure-footed paragon
 of forthright dude.
Thu 21 Nov 2019
at 15:12
Changed a player to a lurker and character got deleted...
So I feel like a total dummy. I went to change a player to a lurker, but I forgot to move the character to me (the GM) first, and now the character sheet and all of its info is gone.

Is there any way to get that data back?
MythZarya
 member, 32 posts
Thu 21 Nov 2019
at 19:44
Changed a player to a lurker and character got deleted...
In reply to Carakav (msg # 1):

Edit the character tag back to "player". I believe the "lurker" tag just makes them invisible to the cast list, and therefore not in any of the drop-down options. Then you could 'rename' them to 'lurker' with the option to keep all of their other info intact.
Carakav
 member, 655 posts
 Sure-footed paragon
 of forthright dude.
Thu 21 Nov 2019
at 20:42
Changed a player to a lurker and character got deleted...
Well, that's just the thing... the character is completely gone now. It disappeared the moment I changed the player to a lurker.
donsr
 member, 1755 posts
Thu 21 Nov 2019
at 21:29
Changed a player to a lurker and character got deleted...
Try this?  Might not work, but.. have nothing  to lose. I had a  Player  ghost for over  a year, I removed the character  and Player.. But, the   player  PMed  me and wanted back in..turns out, she  still had the   CS stats  in the PMs  we ha d  set up  after I accepted her.. so her  CS is  , as  if  the character  never left .

    I don't know if  every thing will come  back if you ' accept'  the  lurker  as a playe ragain?.. but take the shot? have nothing to lose?
horus
 member, 925 posts
 Wayfarer of the
 Western Wastes
Thu 28 Nov 2019
at 07:50
Changed a player to a lurker and character got deleted...
Well, rats.  I had hoped the wayback machine might have worked, but it appears not to - probably because the database back end isn't archived.
Carakav
 member, 656 posts
 Sure-footed paragon
 of forthright dude.
Fri 29 Nov 2019
at 02:04
Changed a player to a lurker and character got deleted...
In reply to horus (msg # 5):

Dang, that would have been a good idea!
Skald
 moderator, 883 posts
 Whatever it is,
 I'm against it
Sat 30 Nov 2019
at 05:35
Changed a player to a lurker and character got deleted...
I tried viewing an existing character sheet then overtyping the character number in the address bar using the character number of a deleted character, and that just returned a message to the effect that "this character no longer exists in the game" ... implies that even if (and that might be a big if) the details are hidden in a database in the background we can't get at them any more because it can't match to an existing character.  And even if you try to recreate the character by adding a new character of the same name, the system will treat them as an entirely new character and assign a new character number.

So looks like once a character is deleted they're gone forever.

As donsr says, the only hope I can see is if you or the user have a copy of that character sheet in the body of an old private message.