Cowboys and Indians: Charge!   Posted by Derrick.Group: 0
Derrick
 GM, 341 posts
Tue 4 Feb 2020
at 18:24
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
evileeyore:
Derrick:
On the attack on daisy... I don't think Daisy can claim complete cover.

Did she not have enough sidewall to take complete cover?  If she did, she would have.  If not, then she'd have done something different.

I'm having a hard time imagining wagon walls higher than two and a half feet, and its hard to crouch behind something that high for full cover.

quote:
quote:
If she can, she's got limited situational awareness.

That's why people under complete cover performing Pop-up Attacks get a -2, which is why Daisy has the Perk Cool Under Fire, which removes the -2 for Pop-up Attacks against targets within 12 yards.

Noted.

quote:
quote:
Daisy has been showing enough of herself that I think the head, arms, and 1/3rd of the torso are valid targets.

That's the level of cover she had when she was bracing and firing.  So are you saying there is no possibility for greater or full cover?

I'm not sure that the posture that could get full cover would be called a crouch. If she wants to drop lower, that's fine.

quote:
Also note, every Spear Wielder that didn't just let their pony do as it wanted took a Move Maneuver.  This will matter when two of them get shot at... right after we resolve exactly how much cover the sides of the wagon offer those inside.


Yes, this is very true. As I said, a messy round.
Mari
 player, 98 posts
Tue 4 Feb 2020
at 20:08
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
I edited my post above to reflect the spear wielder's fate, but I'm having trouble moving the others. Do I need to use Pythagoras' theorem?
evileeyore
 GM, 299 posts
Tue 4 Feb 2020
at 22:54
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Derrick:
I'm having a hard time imagining wagon walls higher than two and a half feet, and its hard to crouch behind something that high for full cover.

I'm not sure that the posture that could get full cover would be called a crouch. If she wants to drop lower, that's fine.

How much cover would she have if she had dropped into a kneeling position (from her crouch) and then ducks down?

This message was last edited by the GM at 22:55, Tue 04 Feb.

Derrick
 GM, 342 posts
Wed 5 Feb 2020
at 17:17
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Mari:
I edited my post above to reflect the spear wielder's fate, but I'm having trouble moving the others. Do I need to use Pythagoras' theorem?

I've been using it... sorry if that's intimidating...

You can go <9,8>,<10,6>,<11,5>,<12,2>, or anything less than those (or reversed from those).

You'll probably want the horses slowing down though, and watch your angle
Derrick
 GM, 343 posts
Wed 5 Feb 2020
at 17:24
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
evileeyore:
Derrick:
I'm having a hard time imagining wagon walls higher than two and a half feet, and its hard to crouch behind something that high for full cover.

I'm not sure that the posture that could get full cover would be called a crouch. If she wants to drop lower, that's fine.

How much cover would she have if she had dropped into a kneeling position (from her crouch) and then ducks down?


Cover is cover... oh, tactical shooting. I see.

I can give you heavy cover. Just some of the head and torso sticking over.
evileeyore
 GM, 300 posts
Wed 5 Feb 2020
at 22:57
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Derrick:
I can give you heavy cover. Just some of the head and torso sticking over.

She was going for Full Cover, so she'd have dropped prone then, as nothing else is likely to give it.
Derrick
 GM, 344 posts
Wed 5 Feb 2020
at 23:09
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
evileeyore:
She was going for Full Cover, so she'd have dropped prone then, as nothing else is likely to give it.

That's acceptable. Daisy is now prone and has full cover.
evileeyore
 GM, 301 posts
Wed 5 Feb 2020
at 23:41
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
For future note, firing through complete concealment should give a -6 or -4 (-4 if they know which hexes Daisy is in).  However, adjusted skill cannot exceed 9 when 'firing blind' like this... not that it makes any difference this time. Crits are like that.

So she takes 4 injury (Wood DR 1, leather jacket DR 1).




Presuming that two Spearweilders are next to the wagon (and still mounted)...

Daisy rolls away from the wall to the other side of the wagon (one Step) onto her back, lifts her arms and fires at the two nearest Spearwielding Comanches...



Daisy takes an Attack with a Step and remains Prone.

18:21, Today: evileeyore rolled 10, 5 using 3d6,3d6.  Dual Attack 13, shooting at nearest two spearwielding Comanches.

Skill 17 + 1 WB - 4 Shock - 1 Range.  That's presuming 3 yards range.  Daisy will still hit as long as they are within 10 yards of her, and in front or to either side (she has Flank Shooting) and not 'behind' her (but then the other side wall would block 'rear' shots anyway).

18:23, Today: evileeyore rolled 3, 4 using 1d6,1d6.  SAPLE check, 3 or less.

18:25, Today: evileeyore rolled 7, 0, 1 using 1d6+2,1d6-3,1d6-2.  SAPLE Round with exp follow-up; 1d+2 pi+, 1d-3 [1d-2] cr ex follow-up.

So potentially 7 pi+ (x2 wounding), 0, and 1 internal cutting (x3 wounding).

18:26, Today: evileeyore rolled 3 using 1d6+2.  SAPLE Round, no exp follow-up; 1d+2 pi+.

Potentially 3 pi+ (x2 wounding).

This message was last edited by the GM at 23:42, Wed 05 Feb.

Mari
 player, 99 posts
Sat 8 Feb 2020
at 18:02
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
I'm going to need help with the movement here. This was where the spear wielders started:

Spear Wielder at (-14,8)
Spear Wielder at (-10,8)
Spear Wielder at (-6,8)
Spear Wielder at (-2,8)
Spear Wielder at (10,8)
Spear Wielder at (14,8)

One was shot (which one?), and this does not really help me:

Derrick:
You can go <9,8>,<10,6>,<11,5>,<12,2>, or anything less than those (or reversed from those).

I don't really know what the wagons block, so I cannot make the movement myself. Please move them for me, so that as many as possible can get to Daisy (they won't see Ben).
evileeyore
 GM, 302 posts
Sat 8 Feb 2020
at 19:01
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Mari:
I don't really know what the wagons block, so I cannot make the movement myself.

If you'd like Derrick, tell me the dimensions (I can gather either length or width, but not both from your previous coordinates) and I can make a map to correspond so Mari can see the resulting areas available for the Spearwielders to end up.

Some of us (myself included) cannot graph coordinates in our heads (I've been just trusting the math so far)...
Derrick
 GM, 345 posts
Mon 10 Feb 2020
at 16:58
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
I'm working on a grid layout. I'll get it to you folks
Derrick
 GM, 346 posts
Mon 10 Feb 2020
at 18:05
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Ok, I've made the map and set it as the game map. I hope that makes everything clear.

This is the state of things before everyone moves, so the archers haven't peeled off yet.

The people way out there aren't on this map.
evileeyore
 GM, 308 posts
Mon 10 Feb 2020
at 22:23
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Derrick:
Ok, I've made the map and set it as the game map. I hope that makes everything clear.

My thoughts had Daisy in the 'middleish' of the wagon as she started on the right and 'scooted left' which would have been a Step.
Derrick
 GM, 347 posts
Mon 10 Feb 2020
at 22:36
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
evileeyore:
Derrick:
Ok, I've made the map and set it as the game map. I hope that makes everything clear.

My thoughts had Daisy in the 'middleish' of the wagon as she started on the right and 'scooted left' which would have been a Step.

That's during this last second... I explicitly based the map on post 128:

Derrick:
This is the state of things before everyone moves, so the archers haven't peeled off yet.

evileeyore
 GM, 309 posts
Mon 10 Feb 2020
at 22:47
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Derrick:
That's during this last second... I explicitly based the map on post 128:

She scooted left in msg #66 about 11 months ago... ;)

You know what... never mind, I thought she was on the "inside edge" (thus far right side) of the wagon when she entered it, which would then have put her in the middle when moved left in msg #66.  But seeing the wagon set up now, I get that she's been on that left side for awhile apparently...

She can roll back and to the right (to the middle 'back' wall) once the Comanches finish moving.
Derrick
 GM, 348 posts
Wed 12 Feb 2020
at 13:57
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Mari, I think we're waiting on you. Does the map help?
Mari
 player, 100 posts
Thu 13 Feb 2020
at 12:45
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Yes, but it will take me until tomorrow to post, sorry!
Mari
 player, 101 posts
Sat 15 Feb 2020
at 00:19
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
I've stared at the map for a while now, trying to figure out what to do, but I'm still drawing a blank. I'm sorry, but I can only ask to do the movement for me. I can't seem to figure out what to do without having people crash into the wagons.
Derrick
 GM, 349 posts
Mon 17 Feb 2020
at 22:48
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
I don't think the slow down requirement is nearly as restrictive as speed up, but I'll see what I can do about getting a scheme for you.
Derrick
 GM, 350 posts
Wed 19 Feb 2020
at 01:02
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
the movement for the lancers is as follows:

Lancer at (-2,8) to (0,2)
Lancer at (-6,8) to (-5,3)
Lancer at (-10,8) to (-8,2)
Lancer at (-14,8) to (-11,0)
Lancer at (10,8) to (8,2)
Lancer at (14,8) to (11,0)

what reach distance are the spears held at?
evileeyore
 GM, 310 posts
Wed 19 Feb 2020
at 05:36
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Derrick:
Lancer at (-2,8) to (0,2)
Lancer at (-6,8) to (-5,3)

Since they are the closest, Daisy fires at them.  See msg #141 for attack details.  2 potential hits, remember that they don't get All Out Defense bonuses since they had to take Move maneuvers.
Mari
 player, 102 posts
Wed 19 Feb 2020
at 21:20
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Derrick:
the movement for the lancers is as follows:

Lancer at (-2,8) to (0,2)
Lancer at (-6,8) to (-5,3)
Lancer at (-10,8) to (-8,2)
Lancer at (-14,8) to (-11,0)
Lancer at (10,8) to (8,2)
Lancer at (14,8) to (11,0)

what reach distance are the spears held at?

Thanks! The reach would be at 2, since they want to be able to attack asap.

Both spear wielders don't manage their dodge. But pi+ does 1,5 times damage, not 2 times. Am I right?

Please tell me if I am able to attack anywhere. Also, the archers are turning, right?


Daisy hits her first target square into the chest. The Indian girl shrieks and drops her spear, clutching her wound as she falls off her horse.

The second spear wielder only receives a painful graze on the side of her torso. She grits her teeth and looks determined to get revenge for that.

Mari rolled 13 using 3d6.  Dodge Spear Wielder 1 (10).
Mari rolled 15 using 3d6.  Dodge Spear Wielder 2 (10).
Mari rolled 9 using 3d6.  HT roll unconscious Spear 1 (12).
Mari rolled 13 using 3d6.  HT roll major wound (12).

evileeyore
 GM, 311 posts
Wed 19 Feb 2020
at 23:16
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Mari:
But pi+ does 1,5 times damage, not 2 times. Am I right?

Yes.  Copy/paste error.
Derrick
 GM, 351 posts
Sat 22 Feb 2020
at 13:02
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
Riderless horse (center) has stopped. (0,98)
Riderless horse  (right) has stopped. (6,60)
Riderless horse (left) has stopped (-4,32)
Riderless horse (center-left) has stopped (2,32)
Riderless horse  (far left) is slowing (-14,2)

Unmounted bow wielder (6,80) is down 2 HP and running back for horse at 0,98
Unmounted Bow wielder (6,60) is down 1 HP and is mounting the horse

One Bow Wielder is down 6 hp (-7,2) (horse turned slightly to avoid collision)
Bow wielder at (15,12) has a knocked arrow, and is heading back towards Earnest
Bow wielder at  (-9,10) has a knocked arrow,and is heading back towards Earnest

Spear Wielder at (-14,8) down 22 hp, stunned, prone, empty handed,
Spear Wielder at (-8,2)
Spear Wielder at (-5,3) down 4 hp, -4 shock
Spear Wielder at (0,2) down 17 hp, -4 shock, stunned*
Spear Wielder at (8,2)
Spear Wielder at (11,0)

Daisy is prone in the wagon taking cover at (-3,-1) with 2 shots down from her riffle. She has a pistol in each hand, with four shots fired from each. She is down -4 HP.

Ben at (1,-1) is down 8 shots (-4,44). He is down 11 HP, for a total of 1 HP. He is prone, and he's under the right wagon His right arm is is down 3 AP.

Earnest at (31,38) and is down 11 shots. His horse is moving (-7,-10) each turn.

*Mari, I need you to roll at riding-4 to determine if the rider at (0,2) remains mounted, then possibly roll falling damage.
Derrick
 GM, 352 posts
Sat 22 Feb 2020
at 13:03
Re: Cowboys and Indians: Charge!
A note on the horses: they are in basic move range now. They will also continue forward unless instructed or blocked by an obstacle.

This fight has really given me an appreciation for a having a well-trained horse in combat.