Game Info.   Posted by Referee.Group: 0
 GM, 5 posts
Sat 14 Nov 2020
at 20:18
Game Info
Initiative is rolled as 1d20 + INT modifier + level.

Each turn consists of a movement and an action. The action can be sacrificed for an additional movement.

Attack rolls are made using 1d20 + the appropriate ability score + any other modifiers and matched against the targetís Defense roll. If the roll is equal to or greater than the targetís Defense then it hits.

Defense is 1d20 + AGL modifier + shield modifier.

Damage is then rolled based on the weapon damage die + 1/2 the appropriate ability score modifier + any other modifiers. The defender then rolls their armor value, if any. Damage type may modify the targetís armor value. The rolled damage is then reduced by the armor value and then taken away from the targetís Hit Points.

Melee weapons use STR or BLD for their attack and damage rolls. Ranged weapons and light melee weapons use AGL or INT.

Ranged weapons have their effective and maximum ranges listed in feet. Attacks are made normally within the effective range, and at -4 to attack rolls when between effective and max range.

When making a ranged attack into a melee combat, a miss chance is imposed based on the number of combatants in the melee. So two combatants offer a 50% miss chance, three offer a 67% miss chance, etc. If the attack fails due to the miss chance, roll randomly to determine who in the melee is actually the target of the attack and then roll normally against their Defense.

Any character may use 2 one-handed weapons in melee. When attacking with both weapons in the same round, the character takes a -5 penalty on each attack.

Death, Injury, and Healing
Hit points are a measure of the general health and welfare of a character, abstracted to include several factors. As such, a character is not considered to be physically damaged (bloodied) until they reach 1/2 their total hit points (rounded down). Before this, they are winded, thrown off balance, or otherwise brought closer to injury without blood being drawn.

When a character reaches 0 hit points they fall unconscious, bleeding out. A character will not die from loss of hit points until they reach "negative bloodied". That is, they reach a negative hit point value equal to 1/2 their total hit points (rounded down). Each round that the character is unconscious they lose 1 hit point unless they make a BLD or LCK save (whichever is better). A successful save simply means that they do not lose any hit points that round. A character can spend an action to stop the bleeding without a roll.

However, hit points are not the only measure of damage. Grievous injury can occur without outright killing a character, and must be given time to heal. A character receives a serious injury whenever they are the target of a critical hit, when they take damage in excess of 1/2 their hit points at one time, or a character can choose to receive a serious injury in lieu of dying when at negative bloodied. In this last case, the character stops bleeding out, but is now in danger of dying from the injury.

Each serious injury is rated by severity and interval. The character must make a LCK or BLD saving throw (whichever is better) at each interval. If the character succeeds on two saves before they fail 2 then the severity is reduced by one step. Otherwise the severity increases by one step.

When a character suffers a serious injury, consult the table below to find severity and save interval:

4-5Major1/12 Hours

A Minor injury which is reduced by one step is healed. A Deadly injury which is increased by one step results in death of the character.

Hit points are healed at a rate of 1d4 per day of normal activity and a night of rest. Full bed rest grants 1d6 hit points per day. The care of a healer doubles that rate.

Spells are divided into 5 Tiers (numbered 0-4). These are descriptive of the power level of the spell. Spellcasters often fail to perform their magic. Success is determined by rolling dice from a casterís casting pool. Each time a spell is to be cast, the caster chooses how many of his available dice to use, rolls, and adds up the total. Each die that rolled 6 is counted and then removed from the casterís pool until he rests fully. If the caster does not reach the target number, they may cast a lower Tier version of the spell (if applicable) if they reach the lower target. Otherwise the spell fizzles and all lost dice are still lost.

The target number can be reduced by 25% if the caster adds one condition per Tier. Examples of conditions are requiring a focus worth dozens of gold pieces and taking several weeks to craft, needing rare ingredients that are consumed, or being required to cast it at a certain time of day.

Tier 0: Spells that have little effect. Feats that can be done by an unskilled, ill-equipped character with little expenditure of effort. Such as lighting or extinguishing a candle. Target number: 3

Tier 1: Spells that have an actual effect on the world. Feats that can be accomplished only with skill, proper equipment, or much effort. Such as lighting or extinguishing a campfire. Target number: 4

Tier 2: Spells that have a heavy effect on the world. Feats that can be accomplished only with skill, equipment, and effort. Such as levitating up a cliff face. Target number: 11

Tier 3: Spells that do the impossible. Feats that cannot be accomplished through normal means, but do not tamper with reality. Such as turning invisible. Target number: 30

Tier 4: Spells that shake the foundations of reality. Feats that cannot be accomplished by mortals. Such as stopping time. Target number: 67

Casters know spells that can be stretched to fit different Tiers. For instance, a Fire spell could be lighting a candle (Tier 0) or throwing a ball of flame (Tier 3).

Game mechanics are separated into Checks and Saves. Both are rolled on 1d20. For a check, the die is rolled and all appropriate modifiers are applied then it is matched against a target number. If equal to or greater than the target number then it succeeds. For a save, any modifiers are applied to the appropriate ability score and then the die is rolled and compared to the modified score. If it is equal to or less than the score it succeeds. On a check, a natural 1 on the die always fails and a natural 20 always succeeds (and is a critical success). On a save a natural 1 always succeeds (and is a critical success) and a natural 20 always fails.

Critical successes are special successes where the character can accomplish great feats. In the case of attack rolls, a critical success means that the weapon deals maximum possible damage plus a normal roll for damage with any modifiers. For other checks and saves, critical success means that the character is successful in every way that they could conceivably be. The GM can interpret this as needed.

This message was last edited by the GM at 15:32, Sat 12 Dec 2020.