5. OOC: Differences between 1st edition and 2nd edition   Posted by Game Master.Group: 0
Game Master
 GM, 32 posts
Wed 24 Mar 2021
at 17:54
5. OOC: Differences between 1st edition and 2nd edition
This game is run under 2nd edition WFRP rules (though I may borrow plenty especially lore-wise from the 1st edition.) Since so many of us are more familiar with 1st edition I thought I better clarify a few of the differences!


Dexterity (Dex), Initiative (Int), Cool (CL) & Leadership (Ld) do not exist in 2nd edition.

Agility (Ag) is new to 2nd edition.

Generally speaking most actions that would have fit under either Dexterity or Initiative in the 1st edition are resolved under Agility.

Actions that would have fit under Cool or Will Power in the 1st edition are resolved under Will Power in the 2nd edition.

Actions that would have fit under Leadership or Fellowship in the first edition are resolved under Fellowship in the 2nd edition.

Strength and Toughness are calculated using a percentage die like WS, BS and so on. Your Strength Bonus (for doing damage) and Toughness Bonus (for resisting damage) is equivalent to your characteristic divided by ten and rounded down (so a Strength of 39 would give a Strength Bonus of 3 while a Strength of 41 would give a Strength Bonus of 4.)

Basic Skills and Advanced Skills

Basic Skills are skills that can be attempted by anyone, even without training though you halve your Characteristic (rounding up) when you roll. The following are Basic Skills and what characteristic they roll against:

Animal Care (Intelligence)
Charm (Fellowship)
Command (Fellowship)
Concealment (Agility)
Consume Alcohol (Toughness)
Disguise (Fellowship)
Drive (Strength)
Evaluate (Intelligence)
Gamble (Intelligence)
Gossip (Fellowship)
Haggle (Fellowship)
Intimidte (Strength)
Outdoor Survival (Intelligence)
Perception (Intelligence)
Ride (Agility)
Row (Strength)
Scale Sheer Surface (Strength)
Search (Intelligence)
Silent Move (Agility)
Swim (Strength)

Advanced Skills like Academic Knowledge can't be attempted untrained.

It is possible to 'buy' a Skill twice if you already bought it in a previous career. You can ultimately buy the same skill up to three times this way with each level of Skill Mastery giving you +10% to the skill.

Fortune Points

Did not exist in 1st edition. Fortune Points are minor lucky breaks that in game terms allow you to reroll one characteristic test or attack. Doing so uses up the Fortune Point but it is regained the following day.

Fortune Points cannot be 'stocked' - if you don't use them up over a course of a day you don't get to add them to the following days total.

Your Fortune Point total is equal to your Fate Point total and should your Fate Points decrease or increase your daily allotment of Fortune Points will change too.

This message was last edited by the GM at 18:00, Wed 24 Mar 2021.

Game Master
 GM, 34 posts
Wed 24 Mar 2021
at 19:04
5. OOC: Differences between 1st edition and 2nd edition
Initiative Order

In a fight Initiative is determined by rolling Agility+1d10.


Magic is very different from 1st edition but these are the key changes:

Dwarfs and halflings cannot learn 'normal' magic at all. Dwarfs can learn to become the highly specialised and very rare Runesmiths but even they don't cast conventional spells.

Humans and elves can learn magic by entering a spellcasting Career (given a convincing in-universe opportunity and story.)

2nd edition does not use Magic Points or Spell Levels. Instead a spellcaster has a Magic characteristic which is increased by buying it up like other characteristics. The Magic characteristic ranges from '0' (for someone with no magical training whatsoever) to '4' (a Wizard Lord) and for each number the spellcaster can roll 1d10. If that matches or exceeds the Casting Number of the spell they are trying for the spell is successfully cast.

Eg. A Journeyman Wizard with a Magic characteristic of 2 is trying to cast Fireball which has a Casting Number of 12. He can roll 2d10 and if he gets 12 or more the spell is cast.

If all the dice you roll during your casting are '1' then the spell fails automatically. If you roll doubles, triples or quadruples then then something has gone seriously awry with the spell and you must roll on the Curse of Tzeentch table (with affects ranging from the very minor - your hair stands on end for 1d10 rounds - to the disastrous - you are sucked into the Chaos Realms - depending on how severely you fumbled.)

Most spells are not bought individually but come with their lore - learning the Arcane Lore (Celestial) talent for instance theoretically allows you to cast any of the spells in the Celestial Lore, though the more powerful and complex spells have very high Casting Numbers meaning only a very experienced wizard has much of a chance of casting them.

Priests use similar mechanics to Wizards, though their magic tends to be less powerful but more reliable. The different gods grant unique lores.

This message was last edited by the GM at 19:13, Wed 24 Mar 2021.